5 Reasons You Should Watch Firefly (Even After All This Time)

Posted: May 14, 2012 in TV Shows
Tags: , , , ,

Joss Whedon’s cult TV show Firefly aired in 2002, and it’s all but dead in the water. You see, it only aired for a single season before it was cut from our TV screens. It had a small but loyal audience, which continues to grow thanks to Netflix and word of mouth. Joss even did a follow-up movie called Serenity, to tie up loose ends.

So, it got its 15 minutes of fame and it blew it – why should you care?

Well, the thing is…it didn’t blow it. The TV execs did. It’s a great show, and one that I’d recommend to anyone – sci-fi nerd or not. The ratings obviously weren’t high enough to keep it on air, but I think that must’ve had more to do with finding the right audience rather than the story line.

Without further ado, here’s my top five reasons why I think you should watch it.

5. It does cowboys and aliens better than Cowboys & Aliens. Well, technically there really aren’t any aliens in Firefly. But it does have a definite Western feel to it. And it doesn’t seem hokey at all. I mean, think about it – they’ve lost the use of Earth and have expanded their reach throughout the universe. They’ve terraformed new planets to suit their needs. It gives a different meaning to the New Frontier. I’m not a big fan of Westerns, but this makes it feel new and fresh. It takes everything that’s good about Westerns and everything that’s good about sci-fi and mashes them together into something original and interesting.

4. They swear in Chinese. The show is set in 2517, and the only two superpowers left are the United States and China. These two have combined to form a central government called the Alliance. Two cultures have fused together, hence the strange combination of old-school pistols and Mandarin cuss words. I don’t know why, but it makes me happy whenever I hear them do this.

3. It’s gritty and realistic. The show is dusty, dirty, and bloody. It isn’t disgusting, but people get hurt – a lot. They’re not superheroes, they’re just normal people. Crap happens and they deal with it as it comes. The entire idea of how this new universe operates seems more realistic to me than a lot of other sci-fi shows. It’s a rough and tumble, people-will-do-what-they-have-to-in-order-to-survive sort of show. People die and backstab and make bad judgments, and it isn’t all shiny stars and cool spaceships. To me, this is what the future of space travel will probably look like 500 years from now.

2. It has a great message – hidden behind some otherwise shady dealings. Malcolm Reynolds is the captain of the ship Serenity, and he’s a thief – sort of. He’d rather do the honest jobs, but if it comes between him taking the high road and him being able to eat at the end of the day, he’s going to do what he has to in order to survive. That’s not to say that he won’t take the high road – he’s actually got a good conscience in him. If he thinks something is explicitly wrong, he won’t do it. And he might even find a way to stop it in the process. That’s the weird thing – the people who crew this ship are the bad guys. They’re running from the government. They’re thieves. They kill people. But, in reality, they’re also the good guys. The government is corrupt. They try not to steal from people who really need it. They save lives when they can. The lines between right and wrong are easily blurred out in Deep Space.

1. The characters. This is by far the number one reason why you should watch this show. I love each and every character here. Here’s a run-down:

A. Malcolm “Mal” Reynolds is the captain. He’s the one that makes the hard decisions and you can’t help but respect him for that. He’s tough to live with sometimes, but he does what he thinks is right and he’s earned himself a loyal crew because of it.

B. Zoe Washburne is the second-in-command. She fought with Mal during the civil war and is his most loyal crewmember. She’s just as tough, but her husband brings out a softer side in her. I like her because she’s a warrior, and she isn’t afraid of anything.

C. Hoban “Wash” Washburne is the pilot and husband to Zoe. He’s probably one of the best flyers in the ‘Verse and Mal is lucky to have him. He’s always got a funny crack to make, and he’s one of the more easily likeable characters.

D. Jayne Cobb is a bit of a difficult character to like, but at the end of the day you just can’t help but become attached. He’s a hired hit man and there’s just about one thing always on his mind: money. He’ll do anything for it, much to Mal’s dismay. He doesn’t always make the right decisions – and he doesn’t always care that he doesn’t – but he sticks with Mal anyway, and you have to give him credit for that.

E. Kaywinnet Lee “Kaylee” Frye is the ship’s mechanic and boy does she know what she’s doing! She’s got a natural talent and the ship “speaks” to her to let her know if something is wrong. She’s sweet and wholesome (though maybe not entirely in the notion that we’re used to), and she’s got a sense of right and wrong that’s even stronger than Mal’s.

F. Inara Serra is a Companion, which is the equivalent to a prostitute of high social standing. It’s completely legal and it allows her to enjoy the finer things in life. She isn’t ashamed of what she does, and it’s all done in taste on the show. Her and Mal butt heads quite a lot, but their relationship is one of the most interesting (and frustrating) in the series.

The final three characters weren’t original crew members, but are just as important to the story:

G. Derrial Book is a Shephard, the equivalent to a pastor. He’s got an interesting backstory – that’s a complete mystery to us still. He a devout Christian, but he also has quite a few interesting talents up his sleeves. I think he, above anyone else, understands Mal. He asks Mal the hard questions, the ones Mal doesn’t want to think about.

H. Simon Tam is the resident doctor. He’s extremely intelligent and graduated at the top of his class. But the Alliance stole his sister from him and did experiments on her. He threw away his entire life to save her. It isn’t easy, but his love for his sister is the driving force behind just about everything he does.

I. River Tam is Simon’s younger sister. She was a child prodigy and was taken to a special school – or so her family thought. In reality, Alliance doctors experimented on her and she became quite an interesting person – she’s partly telepathic, partly psychotic, and partly a dangerous weapon. Her character and the fact that her brother broke her out of the lab are the driving forces behind the plot of this show.

River is my favorite character pretty much because Summer Glau’s acting skills are off the charts crazy good.

So, for those of you who haven’t seen the show – what do you think? Does it sound like something you’d be interested in? I didn’t find anything special in the pilot, but each episode after that got better and better. By the last few, I was completely and irreversibly hooked on this show. Give it a few episodes and let me know what you think!

For those of you who have been Browncoats for a while. Here are some questions: Who is your favorite character? What’s your favorite episode? If the story were to pick back up again (we can only hope!) what direction would you like to see the show go in?

I’ll be back next Monday to talk about Serenity, the follow-up movie.

Comments
  1. Julie Glover says:

    My husband was a fan of this series first and introduced me to it. I watched all of the episodes and Serenity to top things off. I love your list of five reasons to watch! I agree with them all. For different reasons, I’ll give three favorites – Mal Reynolds (the conflict he experiences, the command he has, and THE COAT); Jayne (pure fun to watch this guy); and Kaylee (she’s a paradox in so many ways). Great post, Karen.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Julie! It’s so hard to pick a favorite, but Kaylee definitely tops my list too. And you can’t help but love Mal and laugh at Jayne. This show is a good example of great characterization.

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    I’m a fan of Firefly. Great characterization, just as anything Joss Whedon does 😉

  3. S. J. Maylee says:

    I got hooked when hulu first got the series. The show certainly packed in a lot of greatness in its short run. I watched a tweeter feed of Nathan’s a couple of weeks ago, he was tweeting while watching episodes, so awesomesauce. I need to go back and watch it all again, but I agree River is my fav, well her and Mal might be a tie 🙂

  4. Ruth says:

    I put this in my Amazon cart earlier today but hadn’t yet bought it. Is seeing your post on Twitter a sign that I should buy it?

    Yeah, I thought so : D

  5. asraidevin says:

    Who needs more reasons other than it being awesome? We watched the movie on the wekend on TV and the movie is bittersweet. There was so much left open in the series- Inarra and Mal for sure, Kaylee and Simon, River becoming more whole again.

    The movie ticks me off as well, I can’t say why because it’s spoiler if other’s haven’t seen it. Death makes me unhappy.

    I can’t have a favorite episode. Each one had several great scenes. I think my favorite scene was Jayne trying to trade his favorite gun.

    • Karen Rought says:

      It really doesn’t need anymore reasons, Asrai, you’re right with that! The movie…has issues. It’s good, but it isn’t complete. Which is okay, because I’m just going to pretend Joss did it on purpose so he can revisit this project.

      I totally, totally know what you mean. I may or may not have cried…

      That part is FAB. It’s scenes like that that make me fall in love with Jayne even after he’s been such a jerk.

  6. Debra Kristi says:

    I don’t need reasons. Seen them all! Love them all! LOVE firefly. 😀 I love the episode where they come to the planet where everyone looks up to Jane because of a payload that was dropped. Do you recall that one? LOL

    • Karen Rought says:

      YES! That was hilarious. I love his transformation in that episode. It was definitely one of the ones that really solidified my love for him. He’s such a contradiction, but I think underneath it all he has a giant heart.

  7. […] 5 Reasons You Should Watch Firefly (Even After All This Time) Categories […]

  8. […] you’ve read this post, you’ll know that I fell in love. And guess what I did right after that? I watched Firefly. Then I watched Serenity. I now literally beg people for suggestions for my next sci-fi fill (any […]

  9. […] up, we’ve got Firefly, which takes everything that is awesome about cowboys and everything that is awesome about space, […]

  10. […] is this another Firefly on our hands? I wouldn’t quite go that far. I don’t think it had the same appeal, and I don’t […]

  11. […] His earlier works — including Buffy and Angel — were hugely popular, but it’s Firefly — the cowboy/space epic — that will occupy your time […]

  12. Ole says:

    I’m sold! Thank you. Just finished Fringe and need a new show!

Tell me what you think!