#ROW80 – R4C1 & R4C2 – False Start

Posted: October 14, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , , ,

Well, that didn’t go according to plan.

Didn’t check in last week because I didn’t really do anything with my goals. Not that I did anything this past week either, but I figured I should pop in and tell you what little I did accomplish so you can yell at me and tell me to do better next time.

Main Goals:

The list is short and sweet, but it’s also mandatory. I’m keeping it easy, manageable, and attainable this round. I have to get back to what’s important for me as a writer.

  1. Write or edit every day. 0/14 Ouch. That one stings a little. Need to start focusing on my own writing a little bit more, but it can be difficult when I have tons and tons of editing to do. (Paid editing, so I can’t exactly ignore it…) But I’m going to try to work on some stuff today and maybe draw up a calendar for myself.
  2. Read every day. 8/14 I did a lot better on this one than I thought I would, and I’m actually surprised that I got 8 whole days in here. I ended up finishing The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan – mainly because I had to write a review for Hypable.

Bonus Points:

These are goals I hope to accomplish this week. They aren’t mandatory, but if I have time I should attempt them. They can be anything from exercising to finishing a certain story to organizing my desk. This week I’ve decided on these:

  1. Plan out three blog posts for next week so I’m prepared. I’ve been doing terrible with this, and actually only blogged three times over the last two weeks. Not good. I’ve got some ideas for this coming week, though, so hopefully I can get started on those and actually schedule my blogs ahead of time. Wouldn’t that be nice!?
  2. Exercise at least once. Nope. Didn’t even think about doing it, actually.
  3. Visit three ROW80 blogs and comment. This goal is very important to me, but I didn’t even attempt it over the last two weeks. I WILL do better this time around.

List of Awesome:

This is the list of things I’ve accomplished that don’t really have anything to do with ROW80 or the goals above. It’ll probably be mostly about Hypable and the things I’ve done over there, but I like sharing pictures and random things that are happening in my life. Everyone is always welcome to drop their own list of awesome in the comments below. I love reading them!

  1. I recorded two more Onceable podcasts. If you’re at all a fan of the show Once Upon a Time, I highly recommend listening to us – we really enjoy geeking out over this series because it’s just so good! We record a new episode after each one airs. There’s a new episode on tonight!
  2. I started a new project (yeah, yeah, I know – but this one is really important to me). I’m absolutely in love with the show Teen Wolf and I think it doesn’t get nearly as much credit as it should. A fellow Hypable writer (Natalie) and I have come together to vamp up the coverage on the show, and we’ve also started recording a new podcast! Not Another Teen Wolf Podcast is our baby – and we are so excited to be a part of it. Please check out the first episode if you watch this show – we’re going to try really hard to give you the best podcast we can.
  3. My friend Lee (I edit his books) uploaded a new novel – Noble Beginnings – that’s just a little bit different than Noble Intentions, but still has all the amazing qualities of the first one. I highly recommend this series, and not just because I edit them. I really think they’re great books to read!
  4. I’m just finishing up season 3 of The Vampire Diaries after finally getting through all of Supernatural. I’m so excited for season 4! I wish I could just stay home every day and watch TV. Netflix is so addicting!

So, how did I score for the first week? Just 25 points for the reading I did. I scored 15 points for the second week for the same reason. So, not great, but the good news is, I’m pretty sure I couldn’t get much worse this week. Haha!

Wish me luck, and be sure to share your own list of awesome in the comments!

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Good luck. 🙂
    That’s the great thing about ROW. Sometimes life gets in the way. Look forward. Not back. xxx

  2. S. J. Maylee says:

    My first couple of weeks in this round haven’t gone as planned either. But I should tell you this: I’ve started watching Teen Wolf, purely on your recommendation and I’m enjoying it, so thanks for talking it up. 🙂 Hope you have a great week.

  3. I also finished Riordan’s The Mark of Athena this past weekend and I was disappointed by the cliffhanger ending. I decided that I am never doing that to my readers when I finally get my series published. If I have to have a cliffhanger, I will make sure the next book can be released within a few months. I don’t want to wait a year for the next installment, Mr. Riordan!
    As for planning blog posts, I just got my next two weeks done this week and in the que to publish on their proper days automatically. I recommend this because it really frees up the mind to focus on other writing projects.
    Good luck with your writing goals this week. You can do it…if you sit in the chair and write.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Ah, I loved the cliffhanger! It’s unfortunate that he can’t write faster, but he always says that if we want the books to be good, then we have to wait a year. He was writing two series at a time though, so that’s probably another reason why it was taking so long.

      I try to schedule ahead of time, but it rarely works. Sitting my butt in the chair and working is never the problem – it’s just what I’m actually working on. So many times I have to put others’ work in front of my own, but hey – that’s how the bills get paid. 😉

      Good luck to you too!

  4. Ryan King says:

    Nope. No yelling. No evil eyes. You already have been beating yourself up about it enough I bet. This week is a new week. I’d recommend using the 10 minute rule if you’re having a hard time getting in any kind of writing time. Just take 10 minutes and write. Not edit. Not read. But write. I know you’ve got 10 minutes in your day that you can do that. And if you don’t come back to write after that, well, then you still got 10 more minutes in than you did. It’s a win-win. Good luck this week. You can do it!

  5. Jae says:

    All good. Some weeks the writing and editing just doesn’t happen. It’s about quality not quantity, right?

    It’s fun to meet all you fellow Row80ers. I’m sure I’ll be stopping by again soon! 😀

    • Karen Rought says:

      It’s nice to meet you too! One of the best things about being a ROWer is the community – another reason why I need to get my butt in gear and visit more of you guys. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  6. Gloria Weber says:

    The way I see it, while you didn’t kill your goals, you were acceptably absent. Paying gig always trumphs writing. That’s what my friends and I say, at least. Plus editing keeps you sharp for when you get to your writing.

    I envy your reading. I mean to read at least 4 days a week (not one of my goals, though it should be, but I have enough already). About taking on more (new podcast), do what makes you happy. Life needs more happy times.

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s exactly what I think too. A lot of people (read: family members) tell me that I have too much on my plate. While that may be true, I honestly don’t want to give up any of it. I mean, how often can you truly say that you love your job? I’m so passionate about everything I do that I can’t help but keep doing it!

  7. Julie Glover says:

    WRITE!!!! How’s that? I said it in a mom voice which I have perfected over the years. Or I could give it to you in my former drum major voice (which is super loud).

    You certainly did some writing-related tasks this week, though! That’s progress, keeping you focused on WORDS. I love that you’re reading so much. That’s where I’m dropping the ball right now. Best wishes for a great week and a fabulous ROW80. I’m cheering you on…with a smile. 🙂

  8. Christina says:

    I could shake my finger at you – but honestly I haven’t been doing as well on meeting my goals either. I’ve redone my outlines but that’s pretty much been it. Here’s to both of us doing better from here on out!

  9. […] Karen Rought gets the ROW80 Award too for admitting she  has a life.  Yes, Karen, it’s true!  Weeks will […]

Tell me what you think!

