Connect with the person, not the product

Posted: December 24, 2013 in Writing
Tags: , , , ,

As writers, we should be connecting with our readership on a personal level. This can take some time and effort, but in the end it will be worth it.

Why does Lady Gaga have such a large fanbase? Because she’s given them a name they can identify with (Little Monsters), and she accepts them for who they are. She understands her fans, and in return more and more of them flock to her.

But it isn’t just on a large scale level. Take Team StarKid, for example. I’ve talked about them before, but I wouldn’t be surprised if a lot of you guys still didn’t know who they are. They got their fame when their Harry Potter musical parody went viral on YouTube, and since then they’ve continued to make shows in the same vein.

I’m a huge fan of them, and it’s because I can connect to them on a human level. They aren’t just a brand or a product, they’re people. And that’s important to me.

So important, in fact, that I’m willing to throw my money at them every chance I get. They put all of their musicals on YouTube for free, but they also sell DVDs and albums and merchandise. And even though I could just watch the shows online, and even though I could illegally download their music, I don’t.

Why? Because I want to support them. I want to see them succeed. I believe in their vision, and I want to see that vision become a reality.

And so do a lot of other people. So many, in fact, that when StarKid wanted to raise $35,000 to create their latest musical, they ended up raising nearly $150,000 because so many people feel the same way about them as I do.

As writers, we’re getting bombarded with tips and advice every single day, but take this one as gospel. It’s true, and you can see the proof above. If you take the time to get to know your audience and connect with them on a human level, they will repay that kindness tenfold. And it won’t just make for better sales; it’ll make for a better experience all around.

Comments
  1. juckanin115 says:

    This is why people find it difficult to get behind musicians who are arrogant. Still, I can say that there are times where I can say that I enjoy the music despite not being very fond of the person. (John Mayer’s Continuum album comes to mind) This is because I detach myself from the musician’s interviews and things of that sort.

    It is important to create a connection to the consumer, however. This is why the best singers don’t always win these singing competitions. It’s the singer that people like the best.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Exactly! And there are definitely people out there that I enjoy because of what they do, whether it’s music, acting, etc., and not necessarily because of who they are. If they make good stuff, it’s hard to argue with that.

  2. How do you decide what subject to write about in your blog?

Tell me what you think!

