New and improved (and slightly less frequent)

Posted: December 17, 2013 in General
Tags:

Confession time: I’ve been struggling with the blog a little lately. For some reason, I haven’t been quite connecting to it like I have in the past. I took two weeks off, and have gotten my thoughts in order. I feel a bit better, and I think I know what direction I want to go in now. Not much will change on the surface, but…

I’ll now be blogging twice a week instead of three times. This is partly to save me some time, and partly because I want the quality of the posts to be higher. Cutting out a blog post each week will allow me to do that, so you can expect me on Tuesdays and Thursdays now!

The content will (hopefully) be a bit more varied. Writers are often told to stick with one or two things — something that relates to their writing and to them as people. I totally agree with that, and I think for some people it really works. (For instance, check out Stacy Green’s awesomely creepy blog where she talks about both fictional and real-life thrillers. If that’s your jam, it’s the perfect place to visit.)

Unfortunately, it doesn’t work for me. I haven’t settled on exactly who I am as a writer just yet, and my interests are so strange and varied that even if I had, it would be hard to stick to certain topics. There are already a lot of awesome blogs about writing out there, ones that are much better than mine, and I want this place to reflect the actual me, not what I think it should reflect based on what has been “proven” to work for other people.

This also means that I’d like to get back into some of my old series, especially the Wandering Bard one. If there’s anything you’d like me to discuss, let me know! I’d really like this to be a place of conversation, not just a place where I talk at you. 🙂

Comments
  1. Writing is writing. I think writers shouldn’t categorise themselves as a ‘type’ of writer. I always get labelled with whatever my last book was on, which is annoying. Flexibility and not being pigeonholed is good! Look forward to the new style posts!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I completely agree. It’s hard, though, to avoid labeling yourself, when that’s how the world works. And it works that way on so many levels, even outside of being a writer. It’s something I’m trying to work on in general. Everything is a spectrum, I think. Labeling yourself is like saying you’re just one thing, and I don’t know anyone who is just ONE thing.

  2. juckanin115 says:

    Your confession is plagiarism of my brain. Haha. I’m in that phase as well. For my three years blogging, this is the first time I’m stuck at a mental roadblock this large.

  3. Jenny Hansen says:

    When I get to feeling like that, Karen, I take a break. It makes a world of difference.

Tell me what you think!

