‘Thor: The Dark World’ is a pretty good sequel

Posted: November 11, 2013 in Movies
Tags: , ,

thor the dark world posterBottom Line:

Rent it, buy it, or don’t bother? — Buy it.

Details:

[No spoilers!]

Thor: The Dark World is the second movie based around Thor, and in a lot of ways it’s a sequel to The Avengers, much like Iron Man 3. As far as sequels go, it was a great followup. As far as movies go, I loved it, though it did leave me wanting more…and not necessarily in a good way.

The Dark World was full of action right from the beginning, and it follows Thor around as he helps to clean up after Loki’s mess that he created in the first Thor and in The Avengers. Thor is much the same person he was at the end of the first movie, and I love this new humble version of him that still knows he’s pretty badass.

There was, surprisingly, also a lot of humor in this movie, including some truly laugh-out-loud moments. I especially loved the banter between Thor and Loki, and I wish these two had an easy-going relationship so they could just play off of each other at every turn. The real star, however, was Erik Selvig, who is still trying to cope with what happened in New York.

All I’m going to say is that Stellan Skarsgård has surprisingly great legs.

I know a lot of people don’t particularly like Jane, and I know many of those same people don’t think she has any chemistry with Thor, but I really do like them together. It doesn’t having the same sort of genuine feeling that Tony Stark and Pepper Potts have, but their relationship is weird and quirky and full of some really interesting moments. While I wish their love story could have been built up a bit better, it is what it is, and I’m okay with that.

My favorite part of this movie is actually also my least favorite part, if you can wrap your head around that. Loki is an interesting and complex character, and Tom Hiddleston is just a fantastic actor. I loved everything about him in this movie, except for the end. Without ruining it for anyone who hasn’t seen this film yet, suffice it to say that I’m not sure what Loki’s motivations were, and that leaves a bad taste in my mouth. I feel like the unanswered questions should have been answered, and I hope that happens sooner rather than later.

This movie was filled with some great moments, but I think it could have been a bit more cohesive. The ending could have been wrapped up better, without having to spell everything out for us. But the after credits scene was great and really got me pumped for where they’re going next. This has a potential to be quite a huge undertaking for the Marvel universe, and that is definitely saying something considering what we already know about the scope of these films. It’s all very exciting!

I’d be interested in talking to anyone about the movie in the comments, which — as always — are not spoiler-free. Let me know what you thought of the movie, and which Marvel movie you’re excited for next. I’m looking forward to Captain America: The Winter Soldier quite a bit. The previews look great!

Comments
  1. Lyesmith says:

    I’m currently editing our own review of the Thor movie, and I have to say, I think this might be my favorite Marvel movie so far, even though I felt it had some of the worst performances by some of the actors. Natalie Portman and Anthony Hopkins just didn’t seem into it this time around. I was really disappointed. Portman has me hating Jane Foster. Thor would be so much happier with Sif at this point.
    I think Hiddleston owned it, again. Hemsworth was killer. Jamie Alexander was a scene-stealer. Levi and Stevenson have me begging for a Warriors Three movie/mini-series.
    And the first cut scene was a great little peek into Gunn’s world of Guardians of the Galaxy. I contribute to GuardTheGalaxy.com as well as my own blog, and we’re all super hyped for that movie. But until GotG comes out, I think Dark World is my current favorite; I really really enjoyed this version of Asgard.

    • Karen Rought says:

      See, I love Natalie Portman and I thought she did a fantastic job in this one. It was great to see her have a more direct role than in the first movie. I completely agree about Hopkins, though. There was definitely something lacking there. Sif was amazing though! I’d love to see her get a spinoff movie.

      I don’t know much about GotG, but I’m definitely interested in seeing how they pull it off.

  2. Debra Kristi says:

    Glad to read your positive review. Hiddleston really was a scene stealer. I have to agree with Lyesmith, I wasn’t feeling Portman’s performance and got a kick out of Alexander’s side glances. I can’t wait to see what’s coming in that storyline.

    There are several around me that walked away very disappointed with the film. I went in really wanting to love it. I’m satisfied.

Tell me what you think!

