The final mushroom foray of 2013

Posted: October 23, 2013 in Wandering Bard
Tags: , , ,

The final mushroom foray took place in September, and I finally made it to this one. Last year things just didn’t work out, so I’m glad I got the opportunity this time around. It was a fantastic foray with tons of finds and, best yet, tons of food!

We were mostly looking for hen of the woods at this foray, which is a gigantic mushroom that people are always after. Having had some at the last foray, I can attest to the fact that it’s delicious.

At this foray, we found tons of mushrooms — most of which I can’t identify. Most seemed to grow on trees or fallen logs…

IMG_2215

IMG_2219

IMG_2233

That last one looked super cool. I’ve never seen so many grouped together like that! I feel like there were puffballs of all sorts all over the place. It got to the point where I was so sick of seeing them — it was like they were everywhere you turned!

IMG_2226

Some puffballs you can eat, but not if they look like this on the inside:

IMG_2234

They need to be pure white!

We didn’t just find mushrooms, either. I saw this cool tree and just had to take a picture of it. It reminded me of something out of Lord of the Rings.

IMG_2222

And when we were walking near the edge of someone else’s property, these dogs came over and barked at us. The white one is a Great Dane, which is my favorite kind of dog ever. Ugh, I want one so bad.

IMG_2232

The group’s haul when we got back to base was pretty amazing. Look at all those mushrooms!

IMG_2237

IMG_2238

All I could think about was the food and how much of it I was going to eat. This was just my first plate…

IMG_2236

They had the black trumpet cream cheese spread there that I can never get enough of. I could eat that stuff by the spoonful.

Some awesome mushrooms that were found include the massive one below and the little orange blobs beneath that. So cool.

IMG_2240

IMG_2241

There were tons of these gem-studded puffballs, too. This is seriously only a tiny, tiny fraction of what was out in the woods.

IMG_2249

I was pretty proud that I found one of these, too. They’re called russula compactas, and I really had to dig for the one I spotted!

IMG_2246

Another mushroom I found was this amazing amanita (very poisonous). I wasn’t allowed to dig it up (bummer!) because someone was doing a study on them and we had to preserve it right where we found it.

IMG_2218

That’s wraps up this year’s foray posts. I’m sure I’ll have more once spring/summer 2014 hits. If anything, I think my obsession with mushrooms is getting worse. Have you found any cool mushrooms recently? What about other things out in nature? As writers, we tend to coop ourselves up with our computers most of the time, but it’s just as important to go outside and get inspired that way, too!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. wow, i’ve never seen one like that orange spotted one. so cool.

Tell me what you think!

