The great cake pop disaster of 2013

Posted: October 9, 2013 in Wandering Bard
Tags: , , , , ,

This post is part cake pop disaster, part mushroom foray, and part birthday celebration.

It began with a cake pop disaster. For those of you who don’t know, cake pops are pretty much what they sound like: little cakes on sticks. You basically bake a whole cake, crumble it up, mix in some frosting, mold them, freeze them, then dunk them in chocolate. They’re horrifyingly sweet in the best way possible, and actually quite good.

So, since our August foray happened to fall on my dad’s birthday. I decided to make mushroom-shaped cake pops. Yeah! They were going to be so awesome! Yeah! And everyone would think I was clever and cool. Double yeah!

But…that didn’t happen.

Basically, I started off with the crumbled cake. (Yummy!)

IMG_2064

And I balled them up. (How cute!)

IMG_2065

And then I laboriously shaped them into mushrooms. (Okay, this is getting harder.)

IMG_2066

And then I tried dipping them into chocolate. AND IT WAS A DISASTER.

I don’t have pictures of this step because I was about ready to knock the house down with my bare hands. It was 10:00 at night the day before, and I had five — I repeat, FIVE — cake pops that were done and not ruined. So I changed tactics. I wrapped up those cake pops and gave them to Dad, and made some cupcakes and brought them to the foray instead.

It worked out in the end, but it was a letdown. I so wanted to share those cake pops with everyone! Oh, well. At least Dad liked them. Here’s one of the better ones that I made:

IMG_2099[1]

But otherwise, we had a blast at this foray. We were looking for hen of the woods and chanterelles mostly, and we got to eat both, along with some more sulphur shelf, which we got to eat at another one too.

Here are the two tables we filled with all the mushrooms we found.

IMG_2076 IMG_2078

Here are the chanterelles we found. They were so yummy!

IMG_2082

Here’s just a little bit of all the food I ate. It’s always mushroom heaven there.

IMG_2080

And here are some of the cool mushrooms I saw.

IMG_2077

This one is called a rooted ootie (or something to that effect — I can’t find it online!). Pretty wild, right!?

IMG_2075

Coral mushroom….looks like coral!

IMG_2086

A type of amanita. These are deadly!

IMG_2067

Hen of the woods. These get huge! (And they taste good too!)

IMG_2084

Another type of amanita.

IMG_2073 IMG_2070

All in all, Dad and I had a great time. (Just look at the mud on my boots. You know I was having fun!)

IMG_2092

And I got him this super awesome walking stick for his birthday, featuring a wood spirit and a morel mushroom! It’s hand carved on hawthorn and is absolutely GORGEOUS.

IMG_2094

And sometimes, when he holds it, he likes to pretend he’s Gandalf. And I can no longer claim that I’m adopted. We’re just too similar, you guys.

IMG_2098

Tell me what you think!

