Five reasons why you should definitely be watching ‘Agents of SHIELD’

Posted: October 2, 2013 in TV Shows
Tags:

I promise one of these days I’ll stop talking about television and get back to things like books and writing. But can you blame me? The Fall TV lineup is in full force, and I’m being inundated by wonderful new stories and characters. I love it!

One of those shows is Agents of SHIELD. If you haven’t heard of it yet, it’s basically a spinoff TV series of The Avengers. It exists in the Marvel universe and details the goings-on of the level 7 agents in SHIELD. The first two episodes have already aired, and it’s quality television. And it’s so nice to be getting more from the Marvel universe on a weekly basis.

So, why should you be watching?

  1. Agents of ShieldCoulson lives! That’s right, Agent Coulson did not perish in The Avengers. Well, he did. But then something happened in Tahiti. I won’t give away many details, though. Not that there are many. I have a feeling this is going to be one of the major mysteries of the series. And I’m so excited to suffer through the agonizing clues and tid-bits we’ll hopefully be getting every week.
  2. Fitz-Simmons. Fitz and Simmons are just plain adorable. They’ve both got amazing accents and are super cute. And super smart. They’re not field agents, which makes them a little bit of a liability when guns are a-blazing. But boy to they have the brains. And they put them to good use too. That’s my favorite kind of hero. 🙂
  3. They’re just humans. SHIELD is a division of the government, and they’re all humans. There are no superheroes here, although they are highly trained individuals. There’s nothing wrong with the likes of Captain America or Thor or the Hulk, but it’s nice to have those Average Joes around to save the day once in a while. Especially in a world that’s going crazy now that everyone knows aliens exist.
  4. Amazing tech. Seriously. I was super impressed by the first episode and all of the little gadgets they brought out. Fitz has these awesome drones that have the seven dwarves’ names (so cute) that both him and Simmons talk to. (Did I mention Fitz-Simmons are adorable?)
  5. It’s got a little bit of everything. You like superheroes? Check. What about secret agent stuff? Double check. Great characters? Funny dialogue? Sci-fi elements? Check, check, and check. I think you’d be hard-pressed to find someone who doesn’t enjoy at least one element of this show. It’s just getting started, and yet I’m already invested in the long haul. But, hey. That’s what happens when you put “Joss Whedon” in a sentence and pair it up with, well, just about anything.

Are you watching Agents of SHIELD? Who’s your favorite character so far?

Comments
  1. Gloria Weber says:

    I’m watching it. The cameos are to die for! Though, the pacing feels slow, especially after watching ARROW.

  2. My guy was soooo ready for this series and we both enjoyed the pilot. Still need to watch last night’s episode…

  3. Leah says:

    I just finished watching last night’s episode and I’ve really been enjoying the show so far! It’s quite fun and I enjoy the little bits we’ve seen of how the world works with The Avengers/SHIELD. My only complaint is that none of the elements of the show feel new or like something that I haven’t already seen before on another show. I’m hoping they get a little deeper into social issues or human behavior etc instead of what it seems to be so far, a fun 45 minutes of a sci-fi/action-y procedural with witty dialogue, because these days there are enough procedural shows on television that you have to dig a little deeper to really stand out. It’s early days so I’ll definitely give the show more of my time, but unless they add some depth here it won’t be a show I watch religiously. Overall though it’s quite a fun show and I’m assuming that since Joss is attached to this that more depth and complexity will come soon, so I’ll be watching!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I definitely know what you mean about it feeling like a procedural. I think once we get more into the Rising Tide element of the show, there will be a lot more depth and complexity. Or at least that’s what I’m hoping!

Tell me what you think!

