All we needed was a reason

Posted: September 27, 2013 in Movies
Tags: , , , ,

Potterheads accepted the end of Harry Potter. The books were over. The movies were finished. Sure, there was a Wizarding World theme park, and exhibitions here and there. And, let’s face it, “Hogwarts will always be there to welcome you home.”

So, no. Harry Potter was never dead. It was never gone. It was still alive and well, albeit pushed to the back shelf, to be visited regularly, but to never experience anything new.

Until. Now.

I’m sure you’ve been camping out on a mountain peak if you haven’t heard the news yet. There will be more Harry Potter. (Kind of. We’ll get there in a minute.) Within thirty seconds of the announcement, people all over the world were like this guy. If I owned a set of robes, *I* would have been like that guy.

But that didn’t stop me from freaking out. All day. My mind was like a sieve. Work? Screw work! WE HAVE NEW HARRY POTTER.

*ahem*

The basic rundown is this. J.K. Rowling is going to be writing a new series of films based on the life of Newt Scamander and the book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. It’s going to be set in 1920s New York, and it’s going to be awesome.

That last bit was my commentary. But still fact.

So, no. It’s not Harry Potter, per se. But it’s set in the same world. And I kind of like this idea better. For one, it’s written by J.K. Rowling. She’ll have exclusive rights over the scripts. That means everything will be accurate according to what’s in her head. It’s every fan’s dream realized. Secondly, this won’t touch what we already know. It’s not a remake, a reboot, or a re-anything. It’s not even a prequel, really. It’s its own entity, and it expands the universe.

Like I said. Every fan’s dream.

All we needed was a reason. We were waiting on the sidelines, happy with what we had, grateful for the time when the entire franchise was still developing. You could never get rid of the Potterheads, but we quieted down a little bit. We stopped walking the streets in our robes. (Well, most of us, anyway.)

But we’re back and in full force. There’s going to be more Harry Potter. New Harry Potter. And if I wasn’t excited for anything in the upcoming years (and there’s a lot in terms of films, in just 2015 alone), this was the cherry on top of an already extra large sundae.

Harry Potter was, and still is, a phenomenon. It’s a world event. It was my childhood. I already had the spark of an avid reader and a writer inside of me, but Jo fanned that flame and made that fire burn with a vengeance. I owe her a lot. Many people do. And we get to continue to bow down in her presence for many years to come.

To say I’m excited would obviously be a bit of an understatement.

What do you think, friends? Yay or nay to more Wizarding World? Do you care about Newt Scamander’s story? We’re covering all the news on Hypable, with plenty of featured opinion articles as well.

Comments
  1. I am so excited!! I have brought out my quidditch team shirts and wand!! My inner child/young adult is leaping with joy with this news!!

  2. Jenny Hansen says:

    What a FUN post, Karen!! (And yes, I was under a rock…I had no idea.) Thanks for clueing me in…it’s why I love coming to your place. 🙂

  3. Jeyna Grace says:

    Yay! Of course yay! Even though it’s sad that the trio won’t be there, it would surely be fun to watch.

  4. I just KNEW Rowling wouldn’t be able to leave the Potter world alone. Can’t wait (but, of course, we’re going to have to…)

Tell me what you think!

