Book Recommendation: ‘Steelheart’ by Brandon Sanderson

Posted: September 25, 2013 in Books & Reading
Tags: , , ,

Steelheart Cover Brandon Sanderson

Back for another quick book recommendation! This time I’m suggesting Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson.

The superheroes came, but they weren’t exactly what everyone thought they’d be. They’re called Epics, and they might have superpowers, but they’re definitely not heroes.

David is just a human intent on joining the Reckoners, other humans who fight the Epics. He has information they’ll want, and they’re his only chance to see Steelheart’s reign of terror end.

I really loved this book! Every conclusion to a chapter was a cliffhanger, and I had a lot of trouble putting it down. The world is detailed and complex, but readable and understandable. It’s funny, heartfelt, and action-packed. I truly think there’s something for everyone here. I highly recommend it!

You can read a more in-depth review in my article on Hypable.

Steelheart came out yesterday. Add it to Goodreads or buy it on Amazon. You can check out Brandon Sanderson on his website, his Twitter, and his Facebook.

Comments
  1. ddog13 says:

    Are you familiar with the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan? He passed and Sanderson completed his books, working from notes that Jordan wrote before he died.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I had no idea! Sanderson seems like a fairly big deal, but I haven’t read anything else by him before. I’d definitely be willing to, though. I really like his style.

      • ddog13 says:

        I’m 6 or 7 books into the series of maybe 14 books so I haven’t read anything from him, but the Jordan family held interviews to find the right author to complete his legacy, and Sanderson won out, so I would assume that he’s got writing chops. These Wheel of Time books are a big deal. Highly recommend them if you have the time. I don’t have any time, personally, and I’d need to start from book 1 to remember everything again, so find a moments where you have months at a time free and try out the first: Eye of the World. I think you’ll enjoy it. It’s a fantasy series, but it’s very intriguing an detailed. Comparable to LOTR, easily.

Tell me what you think!

