Why the ‘Lost Years of Merlin’ movie both thrills and worries me

Posted: August 21, 2013 in Books & Reading, Movies
Tags: , , , , ,

Lost Years of Merlin CoverThe Lost Years of Merlin book, and the accompanying series, is one of my favorites of all time. I mean, it’s up there with Harry Potter, The Hunger Games, and Percy Jackson.

If you haven’t heard of it before, please do yourself a favor and check it out. It’s by T.A. Barron, and it deserves to be better known than it is. It’s the story of Merlin before he became the infamous wizard and mentor to Arthur, before he knew exactly what he was and who he could become.

I would call it YA, but it reads more like an epic. Something closer to A Song of Ice and Fire (from what I’ve heard, at least, I haven’t read it yet) than Harry Potter.

And they’re making it into a film. This both excites me beyond words (read: asdfghjk; !!!!!) and terrifies me.

I mean, what if they mess it up? What if everyone thinks it’s a dumb movie? What if it flops and they don’t get to make the second, third, fourth, and fifth films? I’ll be devastated. No, really. I’ll have to take off work for bereavement.

It has the potential to become huge. WB is pooling its resources and really hopes to make this The Next Big Thing. I don’t know if it will be, but it definitely has the potential.

Part of me doesn’t want them to make the movie. No movie would be better than a terrible one (see: many people’s feelings about Lightning Thief). And if the movie is terrible, maybe they won’t even give the books a try. That would be a travesty.

On the other hand, I really, truly, absolutely want them to make it into a film. I want it to be epic and wonderful and perfect. Great casting, great locations, great writing, and great CGI. I want the world to take notice of the movie and then subsequently take notice of the books. Because that’s where the true magic lies, and that’s where all the praise should go – back to the author.

I want the ability to see all the characters that have lived in my head for so long to become corporeal on screen. Is that too much to ask?

I’m sure I don’t need to ask this question, but has there ever been a movie adaptation of book that has meant so much to you that you’re unsure if you want to go see it or not? Which one was it? 

Tell me what you think!

