I went to Rhode Island!

Posted: August 16, 2013 in Wandering Bard
Tags: ,

Granted, this was back in June. But saying I’ve been a little bit busy would be an understatement.

Still, I had a blast, and I wanted to share some pictures with you guys.

I got together with a couple of my friends, and we decided to go to the beach and tour Rhode Island. It has been – and still is, I guess – my favorite state. Don’t ask me why. I have no answer to this.

And this is the first time I’ve gotten to visit it. Hooray!

We visited a few shops, and one of them happened to be an antique store (swoon!). I spotted these beauties:

IMG_1799

They’re cranberry glass salt and pepper shakers with a hobnail pattern. The hobnails (those little bumps) are actually milkglass. Gorgeous!

Next, we ventured onto a mansion walk, where we traveled along a paved path between the cliffs that led to the ocean and a bunch of huge mansions. Below is Salve Regina University, which is just breathtaking.

IMG_1804

Then we saw a dog driving a car…

IMG_1824

It rained or was overcast every day, except the day we decided to spend at the beach. Luck!

IMG_1828

(Yes, it really bothers me that my thumb is in the corner of the picture, but I’m too lazy to crop it.)

My friend and I walked to this cool looking place that was alllll the way at the other end of the beach:

IMG_1834

And it was like the Secret Garden inside! (I’ve wanted my own secret garden since I was, like, 10, by the way.)

IMG_1836

And I found my new favorite thing to do on the beach:

IMG_2046

While we were in Rhode Island, we also went to the Brown University bookstore (because Emma Watson was probably in there at one point), I had dough boys for the first time (dough + sugar = dough boys = my new favorite food), and learned all sorts of Rhode Island-ian words (who calls their milkshakes ‘cabinets’? I mean really???).

Have you ever been to Rhode Island? What do you think of it? What’s your favorite state and why?

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    My wife and I went on that same cliffwalk by the mansions! They’re so cool! When my wife and I move out there, perhaps you can come visit sometime!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha, that’d be hilarious. We both live in New York and we’d have to wait till you move to RI to meet up. 😉 But sure! That sounds like fun. Those mansions were amazing!

  2. ddog13 says:

    The dog had me laughing. So random. And you accepted it: “Then we saw a dog driving a car…” as if you saw it every day of your life.

  3. I’ve never been to Rhode Island – now on the visit list! We have a driving school for dogs in New Zealand – really! Here’s the Youtube clip http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BWAK0J8Uhzk

Tell me what you think!

