Movie Review: ‘The Wolverine’

Posted: August 5, 2013 in Movies
Tags: , , , ,

Wolverine Movie 2013 PosterBottom Line:

Rent it, buy it, or don’t bother? — Rent it.

Details:

[No spoilers.]

As one of the only people on the planet that liked X-Men Origins: Wolverine (or so it feels), I have to say that I also enjoyed Wolverine.

It wasn’t perfect, of course. And I did get a little sleepy half way through. (But can you blame me? My theatre has these leather seats that recline all the way out. I’d probably sleep better in them than my own bed.)

The best part of the movie was the action. I love sword fights and a good hand-to-hand combat sequence. The women in this movie were kickass, and Hugh Jackman lent his usual sense of physicality to the role. It did not disappoint.

This movie was also interesting in that it follows up after the events of X-Men: The Last Stand, the third movie in the original trilogy. Jean makes an appearance, and we get to see where Logan’s head is and how he’s dealing with the fact that he killed her. Some of Jackman’s best emotional scenes were when he was interacting with her (in his head, of course).

I felt like the romance was contrived. I would have much rather seen a protector-friendship relationship between two of the characters than a romantic one. But that might just be me. I’m kind of over the whole falling-in-love-because-you’re-so-handsome-and-you-saved-my-life thing.

The beginning of the movie was a little slow, and the “surprise” at the end was not a surprise at all. I pretty much figured it out as soon as Logan went to Japan and talked to the man from his past (which probably happened within the first 20 minutes).

All in all, it was a good action film. It didn’t allow Jackman to deliver as many funny lines, which is a shame because Wolverine’s sarcasm is one of his biggest draws. The plot was okay, but nothing to write home about.

My favorite thing, actually, may have been the after-credits scene. I was literally bouncing up and down in my seat as it was unfolding in front of me. My nerdiness was definitely showing. And let’s just say that I can’t wait until Days of Future Past.

Comments
  1. ddog13 says:

    I am one of those other few who enjoyed X-Men Origins: Wolverine. I don’t see why mostly everyone is so hostile towards it :/

Tell me what you think!

