Tell me this yoga stuff actually works

Posted: August 2, 2013 in General

Genetics suck, man.

For the last year or two I’ve come to realize that I have the joints of an eighty year old. My hips, knees, and ankles hurt when I walk too long, stand too much, or it’s raining.

I’m too young to be a human barometer.

Twenty-four is, admittedly, one year away from a quarter of a century. But that’s no reason for my legs to be throwing up the white flag just yet.

But I’ve decided to fight back. I’m trying yoga. I heard it’s good for a number of things, like strengthening and toning muscles, loosening up your body, and teaching you better posture (because God knows I have terrible posture).

I’m hoping the stiffness in my legs slowly goes away and I get a workout at the same time. But what I really want to know is have you tried yoga? Does it help? Do you have any success stories? Does downward dog ever not hurt?

I found a free 30-day challenge that I instantly fell in love with. I’m putting the first episode down below so you can check it out.

Comments
  1. Azevedo says:

    I’ve done it for a while, then stopped. And no, downward dog always hurts! 😀 If it stops hurting you just try to straighten your calves and arch your back more, etc. The good/bad thing about yoga is that you never stop evolving, thus it never stops hurting. You just have to bend more to feel the same pain.
    And it works. Before I tried it I could barely touch my feet! Now I can lift 1000 pounds with my pinky. Solid improvement, I’d say.

  2. My mum used to teach yoga, and did so for many years. She retired from it a few years ago. I must confess I’ve never done it (she started when I was a teenager, and it’s NOT COOL to do what your mother does…) – but, given that she’s now rushing about and doing stuff in her mid-70s that people 20 years younger usually fail at, I figure yoga certainly works. I suppose I should take it up myself. It might be cool now Mum’s stopped… 🙂

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    I have always crap flexibility. As I got older (and rounder), I lost what little bit I had. I started doing yoga and I regained the flexibility I used to have. I’m still working on going beyond that (as it wasn’t that much). However, downard dog sucks no matter what I do.

  4. olivia says:

    Hope you stick with the 30 days to see if it helps– I did my own 30 day challenge in May and felt incredibly calm, as well as much stronger. Cheers to yoga!

Tell me what you think!

