Book Recommendation: ‘Uprising’ by Jessica Therrien

Posted: June 12, 2013 in Books & Reading
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Uprising by Jessica TherrienAnother quick book recommendation for you guys! I just finished reading Uprising by Jessica Therrien, and I thought it was great! This is the second novel in her Children of the Gods series. It follows Elyse, who is a Descendant of a Greek god. In the first book, she comes to terms with this new world she never knew existed, and in the second we see the repercussions of a lot of her previous actions.

The Children of the Gods series, as best as I can describe it, is like Percy Jackson meets X-Men. And that’s a total compliment in my book. The second novel focuses a lot on war, loss, death, and struggling to stay together as a unit and a family. There are some really wonderful messages in there, and some really dark times for the main character (and the reader!).

I think you guys will like it, so you should totally pick up the first one and give it a try. I thought the second one was even better!

Here’s the review of Uprising I wrote for Hypable.

Here’s my interview I did with Jessica for Hypable.

You can find Oppression and Uprising on Amazon.

And don’t forget to find Jessica on her blog, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads.

What do you think? Does the concept sound interesting? Think you’ll give it a try?

Tell me what you think!

