10 things I did while in New York City

Posted: June 5, 2013 in Wandering Bard
Tags: , , ,

I was in New York City this past weekend when I went to Book Expo America, and I had tons of fun walking around the city and visiting places I had never been before. Here’s what I did:

  1. Doctor Who Arthur Darvill RoryI walked until I couldn’t feel my feet. Seriously, I was pretty much numb from the waist down. We walked everywhere, and many times it was with pretty heavy bags. You could say I got my exercise on those days.
  2. I visited Times Square. I’d never seen it before, except in pictures, so I was glad we made it there! Our hotel was pretty close to it, so it wasn’t too far of a walk. Lots of posters and video screens. It was cool!
  3. I saw giant tubes of M&Ms, more chocolate than I could ever want, and more superhero merch than I could ever have hoped existed. The M&M and Hershey store, the Disney store, and a comic book store. You can’t really get much better than that. I didn’t buy anything, but boy was I tempted.
  4. I saw Arthur Darvill on the street. No, but really. I SAW ARTHUR DARVILL ON THE STREET. He played Rory on Doctor Who, and he’s in NYC right now because he’s got a broadway show at the moment. He was just crossing the street casually — I mean, I walked right by him — and it took me a moment to realize who it was. Not that I would’ve said anything if I’d had my wits about me because, you know… *flails*
  5. I went to Madame Tussaud’s. Aside from BEA, this was seriously the best thing I did while in NYC. The most exciting part of Tussaud’s? They had the Spice Girls there! My best friend and I were freaking out so much you would have thought they were the REAL Spice Girls.
  6. IMG_1723I saw ‘a’ Naked Cowboy (but not THE Naked Cowboy)…and the Naked Cowgirl. The Naked Cowboy was from afar. The Naked Cowgirl was not. The Naked Cowboy was kind of young and good looking. The Naked Cowgirl was not. *scratches eyes out*
  7. I did not get lost. Not even once. If you knew me well, you would know how incredible this is. My sense of direction is pretty bad. Granted, I was never alone, so that was a huge part of it, but even with three of us, I was glad we never got turned around that badly.
  8. I spent way more money on food than anything else. Which is sad, but oh-so-worth it. We ate at Planet Hollywood, which was fun, and hit a couple of small places for things like salad. I had a really great Greek salad at BEA too!
  9. I did not get mugged, kidnapped, or hit by a car. Again, this is incredible. Not that I was expecting to get mugged or kidnapped, but I felt sure a car would’ve gotten impatient with me. But it didn’t. I had a great time, and never felt worried. 🙂
  10. I felt totally comfortable in the city and would love to go back. I was hesitant to go to NYC because I am so not a city person, and crowds make me very nervous. But I had a great time, and NYC was much calmer and more comfortable than I thought it would be. I’m really glad I went, and I feel much better about making my way back sometime in the near future!

What are your favorite things about NYC, or any other big city you might live by?

Comments
  1. I’m the opposite. I’m so a city person! lol And I live in the middle of nowhere LOL
    I love NYC and I love walking around there. I don’t go down there often, but it’s always a nice time when I do.
    What I most like about NYC? That it has everything! Concerts, museums, events, things to do! There’s even Brazilian stores there 😉

    • Karen Rought says:

      I live out in the country too, and I think that’s part of the reason why I’m not that comfortable in cities. The country is all I’ve ever known! But the city certainly does have it’s perks.

  2. Sounds like you had a blast! I’ve never been to NYC, but would love to see a play on Broadway sometime…preferably a musical. The closest “big city” to me these days is Tampa. Last time I was there I went to Busch Gardens. I’m more a suburban girl. I’m not much for rural, but I’m not a huge fan of the overcrowdedness of the big cities on a regular basis. I like to be within driving distance for a weekend jaunt or something, though.

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s about how I feel too. I like being close enough that stores and such aren’t too far away, but I don’t like them RIGHT there either. I’m not much of a crowd person.

  3. ddog13 says:

    Good times. This brought back memories 🙂

  4. EM Castellan says:

    Glad to hear you had a great time! I lived in NYC for a while a few years ago, and I miss this city!

  5. Gloria Weber says:

    My parents used to drag me to NYC for the Macy’s Thanksgiving Day Parade. After picking up a trinket/waste of money or two, we’d shoot over to Rockefeller Center to go ice skating. We’d eat somewhere (varied from Hard Rocks to family owned Puerto Rican places) and then head home. Sometimes we went during summer to do the tourist thing, but that was usually after some sort of business was dealt with. That was decades ago, though.

    (Crap, i’m old.)

Tell me what you think!

