ROW80 – R2C9 – Travels

Posted: June 2, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

ROW80LogocopyI didn’t get a whole lot done this week, but I’m excusing myself because I was out of town. Still, I managed to read quite a bit and pick up A LOT of new books. And there’s never any reason to complain about that!

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 1/7 I wrote just one day this week, and it was just a paragraph’s worth. But it’s a new idea I was toying around with, and I decided to start in on the opening scene.
  2. Read every day. 4/7 I’ve made my way through Paradise Lost a little bit more, but I still can’t say I’m enjoying it. Gameboard of the Gods is being set aside right now, as I’m making my way through Jessica Therrien’s new book Uprising.
  3. Exercise three times a week. 3/3 Three days doing nothing but walking around New York City. Yeah, that’s counting as my exercise this week.

Bonus Goals

  1. Finish up my last short story for my collection. Didn’t have time to work on this at all this week, but I’ve been trying to think of the direction I want to go in.
  2. Update my contests doc. Nope.

List of Awesome

  1. I went to NYC and survived! Also, Book Expo America was FREAKING AMAZING. Can’t wait to tell you guys all about it.
  2. I’m afraid I don’t have more news because I was AFK for the past few days and everything awesome that happened can pretty much be summed up in the first point!

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 15 points
  • Week 2 – 60 points
  • Week 3 – 85 points
  • Week 4 – 35 points
  • Week 5 – 35 points
  • Week 6 – 55 points
  • Week 7 – 75 points
  • Week 8 – 25 points
  • Week 9 – 40 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 0 words
  • Week 2 – 1,188 words
  • Week 3 – 2,509 words
  • Week 4 – 0 words
  • Week 5 – 0 words
  • Week 6 – 1,815 words
  • Week 7 – 1820 words
  • Week 8 – 781 words
  • Week 9 – 50 words

Total words written in round 2: 8,163 words

Total words for the year: 65,677 words written since January 1, 2013

Have you guys ever been to NYC? What’s your favorite thing there?

Comments
  1. Eden says:

    I love visiting NYC. Haven’t been there for more than a day at a time (we live about three hours drive from there, so day trips are feasible at times)…. Glad you had fun. (And I definitely would count walking through the city as exercise, especially if you aren’t used to it.)

    The word counts will grow soon enough. Thing about doing trips like these is that they provide fertilizer for the mind. You don’t always see the results right away, but given the right seed and nurturing and you find new growth (though hopefully not mental kudzu) 😀

    Have a great week, Karen.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I live about three hours away too. I don’t think I’d want to do a day trip because that’s a lot of bus for one day lol but more weekend trips are definitely in my future.

      Oh yeah! I actually have a novel set in NYC and I got the vibe totally wrong. I have a much better mental picture of what I’m dealing with now as far as setting goes and that’s going to help a lot.

      • Eden says:

        Oh, we drive for our day trips… That way we can get out and take breaks along the way (oddly enough taking the train adds a half-hour for us; the bus adds twice that). I’ve had good luck finding places to park in Greenwich Village and Forrest Hills. Also, the Discovery Museum used to do a deal that gave (very cheap) daily parking in their garage if you bought two tickets for a show… Might be worth checking out.

        Yeah–I know what you mean. The vibe of the city is very different than the media portrays it to be. It’s really an incredibly friendly place (at least in some sections). I saw an old documentary video of the 1930s the other day that involved color footage of NYC–it was interesting how the cars and the prices changed, but the city still came through as NYC I knew it.

        I’m glad you had a great time, Karen.

Tell me what you think!

