Why ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ will be the best show to air this fall

Posted: May 17, 2013 in TV Shows
Tags: , ,

There are going to be a lot of great shows airing this fall. Some oldies-but-goodies will return, and there are even a couple of spinoff shows, which I always enjoy watching if I like the original.

There are going to be some new shows too, but I’m throwing down the gauntlet right now: Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. is going to be the best one.

If you haven’t seen the promo yet, watch it here:

Reasons why ‘Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.’ is going to be AWESOME:

1. It’s a spinoff of The Avengers. I mean, you kind of can’t go wrong if you’re basing your show off of the third highest grossing movie of all time, right? People love The Avengers for about a million reasons, and even though nearly all of the characters from the film won’t be involved, it’s still based in the same world. And that’s definitely something to be excited about.

2. It’s a TV show. I’m a huge movie buff, but sometimes television just kind of trumps film. Would you rather have a two hour movie, or a 22-episode season? I guess that would depend, but in this case I’m super excited this wasn’t turned into a spinoff movie, but a spinoff show instead. We’re going to be able to get so much more action and information now, and it’s going to be amazing! I’m sure it’s going to go on to see many seasons.

CLARK GREGG3. COULSON LIVES. “I’m clearance level six. I know that Agent Coulson was killed in action before the battle of New York.” *Coulson emerges from the shadows* “Welcome to level seven.” YEAH, THAT JUST HAPPENED. It was so heartbreaking when Coulson died in The Avengers, so I’m so glad to see him back. I knew he was involved with the show, but I thought this might take place pre-New York Battle, but it’s not! He’s going to add so much to this series. 😀

4. It’s got it all. Action, comedy, mystery, supernatural elements. Seriously. We’ve got some kickass characters (they are spies, after all), some hilarious lines (I want to walk around quoting “Don’t touch Lola” all day), some intriguing story lines about the protags and antags alike (“S.H.I.E.L.D. Government. Scary men in dark suits that come after guys like you.”), and we’ve also got some superheroes. The latter is probably what I’m anticipating the most because we’re going to be able to see a lot more characters than just the ones in the movie. Yay!

5. Joss Whedon is involved. Whedon is like King Midas of the movie and television industry. At this point, it’s like saying, “Yeah, Chris Nolan is directing,” or “Yeah, Morgan Freeman is starring.” You know it’s just going to be out of this world. Whedon has a great record with television (well, according to the fans, at least), and this is going to be exactly his element. I wish he were MORE involved, but as of right now he’s sort of overseeing it and directing the first episode. Good enough for me!

Honestly, there’s about a hundred other reasons why I seriously can’t wait for this show (not least of which is that Melinda May looks completely amazing and whoever plays Agent Ward is, whew, *fans self*), but these are the big ones. I was excited before, but the premiere is better than I ever could have hoped it would be. It’s just…ahhh…*flails*

Yeah, that pretty much sums it up for me.

Are you excited for Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.? Will you be watching it? What are you most looking forward to?

Comments
  1. Gloria Weber says:

    I’m super excited. And I was all “Tuesdays! Awesome! I have nothing to watch on Tuesdays, instead I- Oh crap! I write? Seriously, did this just happen? I’m going to lose writing time?” Because S.H.E.I.L.D. trumps writing.

    (File that under: Bad Writer or Bad Priorities)

  2. My guy is just going to be beside himself waiting for this… and the fact that Joss Whedon is involved — Perfect!

  3. Leah says:

    It looks so good! I can’t wait to see it, even though my Tuesdays really do not need me adding another show lol.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Lol! Which other shows will you be watching? I’m thinking this one will be the only one of Tuesdays for me.

      • Leah says:

        lol I’m a long-time NCIS fan, so I have NCIS and NCIS: LA on Tuesdays, as well as New Girl (and possibly Chicago Fire, if I catch up this summer). So add SHIELD to that and I’ll be busy!

        • Karen Rought says:

          Wow! I guess so. I love NCiS but I haven’t watched it in a while. I really want to watch it all in order though. I have trouble just jumping back into shows anymore lol.

Tell me what you think!

