ROW80 – R2C6 – Writing!

Posted: May 12, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

ROW80LogocopyI’ve been doing some honest-to-goodness writing this week. Not tons of writing, mind you, but enough that it feels like I’m actually creating again. I do a lot of writing outside of my own projects – Hypable certainly keeps me busy – but journalistic writing certainly doesn’t give you the same high as creative writing does. (Well, it doesn’t for me, at least.)

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 4/7 This is the best I’ve done in quite a while, and I’m very happy with the outcome. I completely scrapped my latest short story and started over – and the story has benefited immensely from that. It’s almost done, too!
  2. Read every day. 4/7 I’m reading Moby Dick right now, and if you’ve been following me on Twitter, you know I’m not really feeling it. But I will press on! Maybe it’ll get better.
  3. Exercise three times a week. 1/3 I had a very intense workout on Friday, so I’m okay with just the one this week. I really want to get back into making this part of my routine, almost automatic, each day. It’s just been hard.

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite one of my short stories. Still working on this. I’m going slow because I want this to turn out right.
  2. Think up a concept for another short story. I’ve been throwing a couple things around lately, but nothing solid has emerged yet.
  3. Update my contests doc. *sigh* I wonder if I’ll EVER get around to this.

List of Awesome

  1. I’m officially all set for BEA, yay! I’ll talk more about that later, closer to the date.
  2. I forgot to mention this last week, but I got a new author photo. I like this one a lot better. What do you guys think??
  3. I managed to nearly write 1,000 words on Thursday. That’s the most I’ve written in a while!
  4. If you like the show Once Upon a Time, I wrote this fun column about the cliffhangers we DON’T want to see in the season 2 finale.

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 15 points
  • Week 2 – 60 points
  • Week 3 – 85 points
  • Week 4 – 35 points
  • Week 5 – 35 points
  • Week 6 – 55 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 0 words
  • Week 2 – 1,188 words
  • Week 3 – 2,509 words
  • Week 4 – 0 words
  • Week 5 – 0 words
  • Week 6 – 1,815 words

Total words written in round 2: 5,512 words

Total words for the year: 67,911 words written since January 1, 2013

What have you guys been working on lately? Poems? Short stories? Novels? Share away!

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Solid work, Karen! And I like your new author photo. Very nice! 🙂

    As you’ve seen on Facebook, I’m still hammering away at Black Powder Brigade. I have a goal to reach 40,000 words today. And I’m only 3700 words away from that right now! …only… haha.

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Well, I like your new author pic 🙂 And good for you on getting so much writing done this week, keep at it!

  3. Eden says:

    Lots of cool progress here–nice that the short you’re working on is getting a happy makeover. The new author pic is sweet.

  4. I too like your author pic. Flattering and friendly! =*)

    I’m fascinated by your point system. Do you get a reward once you’ve earned a certain number of points?

    Also: Holy cow! You’ve written almost 68K words so far this year! Is that strictly your creative writing word count, or does that include your journalistic pieces and blog posts as well (such as the post about cliffhangers)? Either way, I’m totally impressed. Makes me wish I’d been keeping a running tally like you are. Maybe then I’d feel less about about all the things I’ve meant to do but haven’t. Hmph.

    • Karen Rought says:

      No prize. The satisfaction of trying to beat my previous scores is enough for me.

      My word count is just work on my own pieces. If I included Hypable and my blog posts…wow, it’d probably be double that! That why it doesn’t always bother me if I don’t get around to my own stuff, because I know I’ve still done a lot of writing throughout the week.

Tell me what you think!

