ROW80 – R2C3 – Awesome

Posted: April 21, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

ROW80LogocopyThis week was amazing. I have so many things to put on my List of Awesome that it’s a bit overwhelming to go back and look at it. Such a nice feeling after these last few weeks of not getting much done. And considering the type of week the whole world just experienced, I’m not above infusing every word with positivity in order to bring us back to where we should be.

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 3/7 Three days this week, but boy were they good days. I’m forcing myself to focus on my short story collection even though I want to work on my novel, because this collection needs to be DONE so I can finally say I’m published. 😀
  2. Read every day. 7/7 I’m having no problems keeping up with this goal at the moment. 17 & Gone is an incredible book, and I’m not even halfway done with it yet. I also “read” a few other books this week – more on that down below. 
  3. Exercise three times a week. 5/3 I got in some really solid workouts this week. It definitely helped that I got a new dancing game, so now I feel more invigorated than ever!

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite one of my short stories. Instead of doing this, I finished the new one I started last week. This one needs less of an overhaul than the other one, so I’ll probably edit it first, then move onto the first one.
  2. Catch up on my e-mails. Er, looks like I forgot to replace this goal last week. Well, I’m still staying on top of my e-mails, and that’s more than I expected! For this week, I’d like to think up a concept for another short story.
  3. Update my contests doc. Didn’t get around to it this week.

List of Awesome

*Puts on Destiny Child’s “Bootylicious”* I don’t think you can handle this!

  1. I beat Just Dance 4 last week, so I ordered The Hip-Hop Experience, which is by the same company. It’s not quite the same as the Just Dance games, and I can’t decide if I like it better or not. However, it definitely makes me want to workout more now that I have something shiny and new!
  2. I got this awesome portable charger that runs on batteries for my iPhone. Now I never have to worry about my phone going dead again,which was a big concern I had about going to Comic-Con and being busy all day.
  3. I watched the 2009 Stark Trek film! I feel like my nerd street cred has gone up several points. I liked it, and I can’t wait for the next one. (Benedict Cumberbaaaaatch!!!!)
  4. This week I also read The B-Team by John Scalzi, and Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass by Lewis Carol. I actually listened to them as audiobooks, which I realized it a great thing to do when I’m doing something brainless and need to distract myself from being horribly bored. This is how I’m going to get through so many classics that I have difficulty with. I’m listening to The Wizard of Oz next.
  5. I’ve officially completed over 400 freelance editing jobs. When I started doing this a little over a year ago, I never though it would take off like it has!
  6. I finally finished transferring all my files from my old computer to my new one. This was a HUGE accomplishment!

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 15 points
  • Week 2 – 60 points
  • Week 3 – 85 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 0 words
  • Week 2 – 1,188 words
  • Week 3 – 2,509 words

Total words written in round 2: 3,697 words

Total words for the year: 62,399 words written since January 1, 2013

What sorts of things have kept you positive and feeling amazing in the last week or so?

Comments
  1. Leslie says:

    Hooray for awesome! My latter half of the week was less awesome than the first half, but I’m thinking positive thoughts for this week. I have Dance Central 2 for my X-box and just love it – though I haven’t played in a while. I’m also very excited for the new Star Trek movie – I need to make some time to rewatch the 2009 one to refresh the details in my mind before I go.

    Wishing you more awesome in the coming week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I want to test out some other dancing games at some point. It’s the ONLY way I can exercise. Nothing else keeping my interest. And I need some more variety.

      Thanks and same to you!!

  2. You’re so full of awesome! You rock! 🙂

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    I get you with the game for exercising fun. When I want to break up my “normal” exercising (or it is raining outside), I bust out Dance Central 2 or my DDR pad (I have Super Nova). Though, I’ve been thinking I need a new game myself. Not sure what yet.

    Sounds like you have everything under control and doing awesomely.

  4. Julie Glover says:

    What a fabulous week! I’m eager to see your short stories published too. 🙂

    And you can “beat” a Just Dance game? What mode are you in for that?

  5. EM Castellan says:

    Congrats on a good writing week and on reaching your 400th editing job! That’s great, hope this week is just as productive!

  6. shanjeniah says:

    Karen,

    You are clearly the essence of AWESOME!

    You have so much going on, and such joy in the reporting. I am a firm believer that the best answer to hostility is joy – joyful people don’t seem to be the violent type.

    I write, along with more mainstream things, Star Trek fan fiction – well, really, Spockerotica. Iwas very hesitant and resistant to a “new” Spock.

    I went alone to see the movie, with low expectations.

    Blown away. And, in a notebook half a dozen years old, I have a Spock/Uhura storyline…Eden Mabee got to read some of it, and might vouch for me.

    I am looking forward to the next movie, too….and I can even call it RESEARCH! =)

    May you find all the AWESOME you can hold! =D

Tell me what you think!

