ROW80 – R2C1 – Wait, What?

Posted: April 7, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

ROW80LogocopyEr, so this week snuck by me pretty quickly. I did my “State Your Intent” post on Wednesday, so I really only had half a week to work on my goals. And work on them, I did not.

I know, I know. Excuses. Well, I did a couple of things this week. And I have a pretty solid List of Awesome. Right now I’m just buried under editing projects. I hope I can find my way to the surface soon. It’s been far too long since I last wrote anything.

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 0/7 Saddening.
  2. Read every day. 1/7 I may have read another day, but I’m not sure. All I know is that I didn’t pick it up as much as I would have liked this week. I’m still reading City of a Thousand Dolls.
  3. Exercise three times a week. 2/3 Actually not a terrible start this week. I did more exercise than anything else, even if I didn’t manage to hit my goal. I’m still happy.

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite one of my short stories. I’ve been thinking about this, and I know which direction I want to take it in, but I just haven’t sat down and done it yet.
  2. Catch up on my e-mails. I did a big purge the other day, but they’re stacking up again…
  3. Update my contests doc. Ah, the goal that has – literally – been around since the beginning of round 1. Nope, didn’t touch this one either.

List of Awesome

  1. The next episode of Not Another Teen Wolf Podcast is out! This one went to some silly places. It’s called “Magic Spice Rack.” We also got a little makeover to our logo. Check it out!
  2. My interview with one of my favorite authors of all time, T.A. Barron, went live on Monday. He talks about writing, his next novel, and the movie he’s helping to pen!
  3. If you’re a Firefly fan and want to watch the third episode with some commentary, check out our latest episode of ReWatchable! It’s mighty good fun.
  4. I’ve got another interview written up, set for Monday. This one is about the amazingly talented Karen Hallion. Wait till you guys see it!!

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 15 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 0 words

Total words written in round 2: 0

Total words for the year: 57,514 words written since January 1, 2013

How was the start of your round 2?

Comments
  1. alberta says:

    3 days doesnt leave much time to get goals done – sounds like you’re on track for this round – all the best for coming week:)

  2. S. J. Maylee says:

    I’m a browncoat so I’m going to have to watch the latest episode of ReWatchable 🙂
    It was a short week, you’ll get back into your goals this week.

  3. I agree with Alberta and S.J.–it was a short week, and even though mine was longer, it flew by. I’m a browncoat, too, so I’m definitely checking out that episode.

    My week was mostly prep work rather than actually accomplishing anything, sigh. May our next weeks be more productive!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Prep work is still great! That’s what I was hoping to achieve this week to get back into the swing of things, but it just didn’t pan out like that.

      Hope you enjoy listening to ReWatchable!

  4. Gloria Weber says:

    Like everyone and their mama is saying, there were not 7 days in this week for you. You were just doing your warm up lap and aced it. Keep being awesome. Good luck with the rewrite.

  5. Kate C. says:

    Well, you may have written only one day, but your list of awesome is pretty awesome! That podcast sounds hilarious! hahaha
    It IS a shorter week, though. Not to make excuses for myself, either (oh, who are we kidding here), but I didn’t get as much done as I wanted.

  6. Joe Owens says:

    I thought I might try this, but it seems a bit time consuming to me. Perhaps i should stick to what i am already doing.

  7. EM Castellan says:

    Don’t put too much pressure on yourself, this was only the first week! You’ll get on iwith your goals soon enough, I’m sure 🙂 Have a great week!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    I now post ROW80 updates weekly. I feel better about that because sometimes I get nothing done in a 2-3 day period. This weekend was a total wash for me, and today has been catching up on all kinds of stuff besides my novel. So take heart. This can still be a great week! Just hang in there and know we’re cheering for you!

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s why I never posted on Wednesdays, because I tend to get a lot of stuff done over the weekend. Plus, I didn’t wan to inundate everyone with Row80 updates if they weren’t necessary.

Tell me what you think!

