ROW80 – Round 2 – Stating My Intent

Posted: April 3, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

ROW80LogocopyThe first round didn’t go over all that well for me, and it doesn’t look like things are going to be slowing down anytime soon. But I’m taking that into consideration and trying my hardest to focus on the things I really need to focus on. Mainly, my writing.

I’ve heard it said a million times. If you’re doing something that takes you away from your writing, then you need to trim the fat and do what’s necessary to focus on what’s most important (ie. getting published).

Okay, that’s all fine and dandy, but what happens when the stuff you’re doing will help you with your writing in the long run? Help you with things like establishing your audience, spreading your name, and gaining experience?

How are you supposed to give up that?

Especially when you don’t want to. I’m the type of person that piles their plate high and is perfectly content to slowly make their way through each and every item. Sure, it might take a while. And, yeah, sometimes it’s uncomfortable (like,unbutton your pants AND unzip your fly uncomfortable), but you do it because you love it and because it benefits you. And, well, I have a problem with portioning.

Wait, are we still talking about writing or are we talking about my dinner? This metaphor kind of got away from me.

The point is, I like what I’m doing. The only thing I want to change is how much I’m able to accomplish in a single day. Better time management. Better prioritizing. Better skills.

It’s not about giving up anything to gain more time, it’s about bettering myself in order to gain more time.

So, that’s the attitude I’m taking into this second round of 2013. I kept my list pretty simple last round, and I think it worked out for the best. I’ll be carrying that over into this round, along with my usual points system and my List of Awesome.

So, here’s what I’d like to get done this week (even though it’s technically already started, and I haven’t even begun to work on anything yet):

As per usual, my main goals will include writing and reading every day. I’m also bumping up my exercising from two days a week to three days a week.

As of right now, my extra goals for the week are going to include rewriting one of my short stories, catching up on my e-mails, and updating my contests doc.

I’m still sticking to five points for every time I accomplish a main goal and ten points for bonus goals. I’ll be keeping track of how many words I’ve written on my personal projects (not counting blog posts and Hypable articles).

This round looks very much like the last round, but I’m going to try to keep my bonus goals more manageable so I have more incentive to finish them.

Here’s to hoping round 2 is twice as good as round 1!

In what ways are you changing your goals from last round to this round?

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    Good luck! I need to work on my time management as well. I spent too much time galavanting around the internet instead of putting words on the page.

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Good luck with your goals! I didn’t change mine lol.

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    Focused goals and taking things at your own pace are very smart choices. Best wishes this round!

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Welcome back to round 2!

    And hey, I listened to your Hypable podcast on The Host (okay, well at least half of it). A friend was asking about seeing it, and after listening to your take, I think I’ll watch it on DVD later. Thanks!

  5. Yay! I’m back to row80 so I’ll see you around more 😉
    Good luck!

  6. So, with all the point gathering, do you have set rewards for when you hit certain targets? Or is it just a feeling of achievement?

  7. Joe says:

    Looks like you’ve put together a list that’s both manageable and worthwhile. You’ve set yourself up for success. Now–go get ’em!

  8. Pam Baddeley says:

    Yeah, life gets in the way doesn’t it! I have the same problem. Good luck in the second round.

Tell me what you think!

