ROW80 – Round 1 – Final Check-in

Posted: March 31, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

ROW80LogocopyMarch is coming to a close, and so is the first round of 2013. It wasn’t a spectacular round in terms of accomplishing my goals, but I’ve been busy. Regardless, I’m still working toward the things I want to accomplish and doing some things I truly love to do.

This round has been a productive one overall, and it definitely showed me what I’m capable of. Writing 1,000 words a day is tough, but I’m going to try to carry that goal into all subsequent rounds. It definitely allows you to get some serious writing done. I’ve started a lot of projects and even finished a few of them.

Here’s to a solid round 1 and an even better round 2!

Here’s a list of my accomplishments for this first round:

-Decided to rewrite some major plot points of L1.

-Got Google Verified, which means my picture will show up next to articles I’ve written for Hypable!

-I wrote 5,000 words in one day. Considering how busy I’ve been, this is pretty amazing to me.

-Finished writing W1!

-Started writing W2!

-I decided and started implementing working at home more often. I can’t even begin to tell you how appreciative I am of my boss. It’s been such a life-saver to have more flexible hours.

-Saw Warm Bodies and LOVED it!

-Finished Divergent, The Darkest Minds, Beautiful Creatures, and The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

-Hypable hit 20,000 published articles, and I’ve written over 100!

-I went to Philadelphia to catch a pre-screening of The Host. I also went to a book signing with Stephenie Meyer, Jake Abel, and Max Irons. The best part, though, was meeting two of my Hypable coworkers – Mitch and Laura!

-Hypable was at the Oscars. THE OSCARS, PEOPLE.

-I AM GOING TO COMIC CON IN JULY. No, I can’t write that sentence without putting it in caps. It’s against the laws of the universe.

-Hypable started up ReWatchable and Book Hype, two new and totally awesome podcasts that I’m particularly proud to be a part of.

-I have a friend working on a cover for my short story collection. It’s going to be awesome.

-I got a signed George Watsky CD, which is kind of a dream come true.

-I got an interview with one of my favorite authors and an artist I really admire. Both of those should be going up sometime soon.

Total points earned in Round 1: 580

Total words written for this round: 57,514

Total words written since January 1, 2013: 57,514

This round really didn’t feel like anything spectacular, but looking over my list, I’m pretty happy with it! Especially considering I wrote almost 60,000 words in just a couple of months. That’s insane!

What surprised you about your final check-in/round 1 recap? Who’s going to be around for round 2?

Comments
  1. Julie Glover says:

    Wow. Looking at that list, your round was very nice, Karen! Congratulations on all that you accomplished. See you in Round 2!

Tell me what you think!

