ROW80 – R1C10 – Some Progress

Posted: March 17, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: ,

ROW80LogocopyNot a whole lot on the writing front this week, but a couple of really exciting things in the works!

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 2/7 Twice as good as last week. I edited one day (that new short story I wrote) and wrote a little bit on Friday for another short story I’m hoping to finish this week.
  2. Read every day. 3/7 Seriously trying to get some chapters done every night. Hoping to finish Beautiful Creatures soon! I’m just starting to get to the part with some real answers.
  3. Exercise twice a week. 2/2 Not quite as good as last week, but at least I met my goal.

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite chapter 1 of L1. Nope.
  2. Keep writing W2. Didn’t get a chance to.
  3. Update my contests doc. Nope.

List of Awesome

  1. I wrote a column about how amazing George Watsky is, and how he’s an artist for the people. He saw the article and RTed it. 🙂
  2. I’m also going to be interviewing one of my all-time favorite authors, T.A. Barron. AHHHHH. I sent my questions off to him last night. I hope this allows Hypable some exclusives and to get to work with him more closely. THAT WOULD BE AMAZING.
  3. I’ve also got some other neat exclusives in the works for Hypable. I hope they all pan out because I’m really excited for them!
  4. Very grateful to the friends I have, both IRL and online. You guys rock. You totally deserve a spot on my List of Awesome.

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 95 points
  • Week 2 – 100 points
  • Week 3 – 50 points
  • Week 4 – 90 points
  • Week 5 – 60 points
  • Week 6 – 10 points
  • Week 7 – 0 points
  • Week 8 – 5 points
  • Week 9 – 50 points
  • Week 10 – 35 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 8,284 words
  • Week 2 – 13,697 words
  • Week 3 – 5,365 words
  • Week 4 – 9,310 words
  • Week 5 – 2,777 words
  • Week 6 – 0 words
  • Week 7 – 0 words
  • Week 8 – 0 words
  • Week 9 – 2943 words
  • Week 10 – 537 words

That brings my total words for the year up to: 52,536 words written since January 1, 2013

Have you ever gotten a chance to speak with one of your idols? What was it like? Did you freeze up, or were you able to tell them how important their work has been to you?

Comments
  1. Chris says:

    When I first started my writing blog I was able to interview one of my favorite authors, Margaret Weis. It was good experience, but I regret not asking her better questions, haha. I was still so new to everything at the time so I asked such generic, lame questions. Perhaps I should contact her about a follow-up interview.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I think you should! I was definitely worried I didn’t ask good questions, but I am happy with the ones I chose. They were pretty varied. I hope I get more chances to talk to him in the future, though, just in case.

  2. Julie Glover says:

    You’re doing well, Karen! You definitely upped your goal completion this week. Enjoy that interview!

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    Nobody is perfect. Seems like you’ve had a good week on your goals and full of awesome. Keep it up.

    The first time talked to certain someone I respected, admired/envied, and thought was beyond awesome… I did this spew of OMGing and fangirling that, without a doubt, made me seem weird. (Which I am, but I usually do my best to keep the levels low in public.) Anyways, thankfully I didn’t scare the person away. I still maintain some contact with said individual.

    • Karen Rought says:

      That’s always exciting! I think people who are in the limelight are used to it to an extent. They probably didn’t think you were as weird as you did! That’s really great that you’re able to keep in touch with them too.

  4. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for some progress! And interviewing authors you love is so much fun and so inspirational, isn’t it? Hope you have a great writing week!

  5. amyskennedy says:

    Oh so cool that you’re interviewing T.A. Barron! I always love your list of Awesome, because it’s always overly awesome! My list of awesome, when I remember to do it is…less so. But that’s okay.

    love it that you’ve written over 50k words since January 1st!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Yeah, it’s so surprising when you go back and look at the stuff you’ve accomplished – especially those words. That’s practically a whole novel! It never feels like much until you look back on everything. And I’m sure your list of awesome is totally awesome! ❤

Tell me what you think!

