#ROW80 – R1C6 – Blah

Posted: February 17, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

ROW80LogocopyThis week was just…blah.

I didn’t get anything done, except a whole lot of editing on other people’s stories. Productive, I guess, but not for my own personal goals.

I didn’t even blog once this week. Le sigh.

Oh, and my California dreams have been crushed. No San Diego Comic Con for me this year. *lip quiver*

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 0/7 Writing? What’s writing? Do I even remember what my story is about at this point?
  2. Read every day. 1/7 Still reading Beautiful Creatures, but I haven’t picked it up since Tuesday.
  3. Exercise twice a week. 1/2 After feeling like someone took a baseball bat to my legs last week, I finally got around to exercising…once.

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite chapter 1 of L1. Nope.
  2. Keep writing W2. Nope.
  3. Update my contests doc. Nope.

List of Awesome

I really wanted to forgo even putting up a list of awesome this week, but that’s not how I roll. Seeing as this post is already pretty depressing to look at, I figured I should try to do something to infuse it with my usual positivity.

  1. Next week I’m travelling to Philly to meet up with a couple of my fellow Hypable staffers. We’re going to see a pre-screening of The Host and go to a book signing with Stephenie Meyer. The two male leads will also be there to sign posters.
  2. I’ve been podcasting like crazy. Last night we talked about none other than Firefly. Yeah, epic awesomeness coming to Hypable soon.
  3. One of my friends picked up a copy of Forest of the Forsaken after I recommended it, and she liked it a lot! So don’t just take my word for it. 😉 (And this week I promise I’ll do up the post about it I said I would do last week.)

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 95 points
  • Week 2 – 100 points
  • Week 3 – 50 points
  • Week 4 – 90 points
  • Week 5 – 60 points
  • Week 6 – 10 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 8,284 words
  • Week 2 – 13,697 words
  • Week 3 – 5,365 words
  • Week 4 – 9,310 words
  • Week 5 – 2,777 words
  • Week 6 – 0 words

That brings my total words for the year up to: 48,256 words written since January 1, 2013

How do you pick yourself back up after a week of getting absolutely nothing done?

Comments
  1. I have been having a tough time getting some of my goals done here too! As far as picking myself back up, I remember why I started the goals in the first place and how sweet if feels when you acheive something that you have worked so hard for and I try not to be so hard on myself for not getting everything accomplished as quickly as I want to 🙂

  2. S. J. Maylee says:

    Exciting stuff about The Host, very much looking forward to reading about your trip. Go browncoats 🙂 and I’m looking forward to your post on Forest of the Forsaken. Your list of awesome is pretty darn awesome. Have a great week.

  3. Kate C. says:

    😦 I’m hugging you through the internet right now, because MAN, have I been there! In fact, for most of December I felt that way about my writing. For me, in the end, it just comes back to the fact that writing is what I love to do. I may leave it for a while (even unwillingly), but that doesn’t stop me from coming right back when I have the chance. Just forgive yourself and move on, I guess.

  4. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    I’m with Kate C. and giving you a virtual hug right now too. Enjoy the awesome and hey, every new week is a new start. I hope you regain your writing energy and can move forward.

  5. Julie Glover says:

    How do you pick yourself up? You let go. At least that’s what works for me. I just give myself a break and move on. When I pick the writing back up, I may have to go back a bit and read what I had written before to get my bearings, but then it comes back. So best wishes with that!

    I still enjoyed your List of Awesome. I didn’t know The Host was being made into a movie, and I’m glad about that. I liked The Host better than any of Meyer’s Twilight books. I also smile when anyone mentions FIrefly. 🙂 I just did it again.

    Hang in there, and have a marvelous week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks, Julie. I think I’m going to have to do just that.

      Yeah! It comes out at the end of March. There are already a few trailers out. If you haven’t seen them yet, I’d go look them up! It looks fantastic.

      The Firefly podcast is going to be amazing. It’s a mix of people who have and haven’t seen the show before, so it’s going to be really fun living vicariously through the newbies.

  6. EM Castellan says:

    That trip to Philly sounds exciting! Can’t wait to hear about it 🙂 And I think moving on after a bad week is easier if you just forget about it. It’s in the past and you can’t change it, so onward and forward now! Hope you have a great week 🙂

Tell me what you think!

