#ROW80 – R1C5 – Slow Week

Posted: February 10, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

ROW80LogocopyThis week was just another one of those weeks where I had to put the stuff I want to do on the backburner in order to get the stuff I NEED to do done. Productivity was slow on some fronts, but I managed to keep up on others.

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 2/7 Not too happy with this, but by the time I got everything else done, I was ready to collapse into bed. Hopefully next week will be better for writing. I’m closing in on the final section of the book – I estimate I have about 10-15K words left – so hopefully I’ll be finishing this project up soon.
  2. Read every day. 5/7 I didn’t read every day this week, but I got A LOT of reading done regardless. I’m still reading Beautiful Creatures, but I had to put it on hold so I could jump into The Darkest Minds in order to record a podcast for Hypable. I ended up getting it done in about four days – whew! It was really good, and I’ll link to the podcast when it goes live, if you guys are interested in our review of it.
  3. Exercise twice a week. 3/2 I’ve been watching a lot of awesome music videos with some killer dance moves in them lately, so I’ve been all pumped to play my Just Dance games. Only, come Friday I was knocked back on my butt with…something. I’m not sure what it was, but my legs felt like someone ran them over with a truck. Feeling much better now though!

Bonus Goals

  1. Rewrite chapter 1 of L1. I didn’t even get a chance to open this document this week, even though I’ve been itching to dive back into it. I hope I can get around to it this week.
  2. Keep writing W2. Going well!
  3. Update my contests doc. Nope. 😦

List of Awesome

  1. I wrote a really fun column for Hypable for National Love Your Robot Day (February 7) about my favorite and most loveable robots. Check it out!
  2. As mentioned up above, Hypable is starting up a book podcast. There are five of us on there, and it’s such a fun crew. Really great opinions and discussion, and a lot of silliness and laughter. I hope you guys tune in when we start recording regularly!
  3. Remember last week when I told you I had an awesome book come across my desk for me to edit? It’s live on Amazon now! It’s called Forest of the Foresaken. It’s an amazing read, so please check out the link. You can see my review of it there, too. I’m also going to throw up a post about it on Wednesday, trying to explain in more detail why I think it’s worth your time. So check back!
  4. One of the authors I edit for has some fun zombie stuff in the works. More on that later, but if you want to check it out right away, go visit his Affliction Z Facebook page!
  5. Hypable hit 20,000 published articles this week! And I’ve already written over 100! It’s not a lot in comparison, but considering I was initially brought on as a copyeditor, I’m quite proud of that number. 🙂

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 95 points
  • Week 2 – 100 points
  • Week 3 – 50 points
  • Week 4 – 90 points
  • Week 5 – 60 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 8,284 words
  • Week 2 – 13,697 words
  • Week 3 – 5,365 words
  • Week 4 – 9,310 words
  • Week 5 – 2,777 words

That brings my total words for the year up to: 48,256 words written since January 1, 2013

Do you guys usually give self-pubs a chance, or do you steer clear of them?

Comments
  1. EM Castellan says:

    It’s good to hear Hypable is doing well 🙂 I hope you’ll have more time to yourself next week though. Happy writing!

  2. Julie Glover says:

    I’ve been reading more self-pubs lately. Good week anyway, Karen.

    And I think I need to plug in my Just Dance game as well. My exercise has been so sporadic of late.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Some of them are really quite good, and they have such a rotten reputation. I hope attitudes change toward them – and soon. A good read is a good read, in my opinion. And I’ve read plenty of traditionally published books that I thought were terrible!

  3. alberta ross says:

    good word count this year:0 am reading indies/selfpubs/ ebooks/ new authors this year as part of reading challenges:)

Tell me what you think!

