#ROW80 – R1C3 – That thing called life

Posted: January 27, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , , ,

ROW80LogocopyAh, well. I tried.

Life got in the way this week, big time. I’ve been getting slammed with copyediting gigs, which is both a blessing and a right pain in the butt. But I’m not complaining. No, definitely not complaining.

Okay. Maybe I’m complaining.

But just a little! I’ve been super busy with it, which means I’ve had no time to write. That’s the only thing I’m complaining about. But I did get some words in this week, and that’s definitely better than nothing.

On to the breakdown…

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 4/7 I didn’t get in any editing, and I didn’t get much writing in either. Hopefully next week is a lot calmer and I’m able to focus on that again.
  2. Read every day. 1/7 Despite the fact that I’m loving Divergent right now, I only picked it up once this week. Usually by the time I’m about to fall into bed, I fall asleep as soon as my head hits the pillow!
  3. Exercise twice a week. 3/2 I’m still doing great with this goal, and having fun with it too. I’m actually looking forward to exercising again!

Bonus Goals

  1. Finish edits on chapters five and six of L1. Nope.
  2. Keep writing W2. I had too many ideas to just go back and edit W1 even though it was a mess, so I decided to just keep writing in W2 while they were fresh in my mind. I still have to come up with a main plot line, but I’ve got the beginning all figured out. It’s going well so far, and I’m almost up to the point where I need to figure out what the major conflict of the story is. That would be an important thing to know, wouldn’t it? 😉
  3. Update my contests doc. Nope.

List of Awesome

  1. I’m slowly trying to transition myself into working at home more and more often. I’m extremely lucky that I have a very understanding boss who is willing to allow me to do this so I can have more flexible hours. We’re still working out the details, but I’m hoping this will allow me to meet my deadlines a bit faster when I have a lot of them, like I did this week.
  2. This is something cool that I’ve never had happen to me before. This article on Examiner.com (a site that is about 10x bigger than us) referenced a news piece I wrote about Teen Wolf for Hypable, and actually quoted something I said about one of the characters! I may have done a happy dance when I saw it…
  3. C.G. Cooper’s second episode of the third book, Prime Asset, in the Corps Justice series is now live!
  4. Warm Bodies hits theatres on FRIDAY. I’m going to see it next weekend, and I am so excited!!

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 95 points
  • Week 2 – 100 points
  • Week 3 – 50 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 8,284 words
  • Week 2 – 13,697 words
  • Week 3 – 5,365 words

That brings my total words for the year up to: 36,169 words written since January 1, 2013

Anyone else going to see Warm Bodies when it comes out?

Comments
  1. I’m curious about your points system…do you have a “win” point or a carrot dangling from a stick out there somewhere?

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha! I try to stay consistent at the very least, and try to increase the points if I can. It’s more about just hitting my goals every day, but the points allow me to see how I’m doing from week to week.

  2. alberta says:

    well done on that word count, Jan has been good for you – all the best with getting work schedule worked out and all the best for this coming week:)

  3. S. J. Maylee says:

    Over 5k this week, Karen, you actually had a great week, especially when you add this in with everything else. Okay, the points don’t agree with me, but I think you did great.
    I love working from home. You’ll definitely need self-discipline though, good thing you’ve got the ROW80 thing working for you. Hope you have an even better week this week.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks! My major at college was online, so I’m definitely used to self-discipline as far as getting stuff done. Now I just have to work on not doing it all at the last minute. 😉

  4. Julie Glover says:

    Congrats on the mention in Examiner.com. That is very cool, Karen!

    Alas, some weeks are like the one you just had. You’re keeping busy, and that’s good, but then you can’t get some things done. Hope you have an excellent week this time around!

  5. EM Castellan says:

    I can’t wait to see Warm Bodies, but it comes out later here in the UK… Hope you have a calmer week! Happy writing 🙂

Tell me what you think!

