#ROW80 – R1C2 – In the Bag

Posted: January 20, 2013 in ROW80
Tags: , , , ,

ROW80LogocopyHey, guys! I had a super week. Not only did I meet all of my main goals, but I also overachieved on exercising (ALWAYS  a plus) and finished the first step on a MAJOR project.

*dances*

Main Goals

  1. Write or edit every day. 7/7 I wrote each day and edited on three of the days as well. More on the big goal accomplished down below.
  2. Read every day. 7/7 Divergent is so, so, SO good. I just wish I had more time to read it. Reading a chapter a night is agonizingly slow. I wish the third book was out already too. Having to wait for it once I finish Insurgent is going to be brutal.
  3. Exercise twice a week. 4/2 Four times!? I must be crazy. Or I’m just addicted to Just Dance 4. I’m going to venture a guess that it’s the latter. I also dropped two pounds from last week, which is, like, WHOA. But, hey. I’m not complaining.

Bonus Goals

  1. Finish edits on chapters five and six of L1. It’s a no go on this. I’m doing up a spreadsheet right now to help me figure out what needs to be changed and what parts are lacking. So actual edits are on hold until that’s done. Then I’ve decided – against my better judgment – that I’m going to rewrite a few of the major plots. I just…didn’t like them. Basically, this was me:
  2. Continue writing W1. THIS IS DONE. You guys, I FINISHED IT. *flails* It’s 34.5K words long and it’s…pretty terrible. It’s going to need an overhaul. I’m talking chainsaw, hazmat suits, and maybe some dynamite. But I don’t care. The words are on the screen. The plot is down. It just needs some fine tuning, and then it will be GOLDEN. I’m really excited about this one. New goal is to keep writing W2. (More on that at the next check-in.)
  3. Update my contests doc. I didn’t quite to this yet. I was too busy. Oops. *hides*

List of Awesome

  1. DID I MENTION THAT I FINISHED WRITING W1???
  2. I attended a WANA webinar titled Agent Secrets, and it was awesome! I learned a lot, and I think I’m finally getting a game plan in my head for what I want to do. Yeahhh!
  3. Episode 14 of Onceable is LIVE! We discuss Once Upon a Time’s “The Outsider” in our episode titled “Belle and Hook.”
  4. Episode 9 of Not Another Teen Wolf Podcast is also live! We talk about the Teen Wolf webisode series Search for a Cure on our episode titled “Webisodalicious.” (Which I seriously have trouble pronouncing.)
  5. I finished a very big article for Hypable. It’s about Harry Potter, and I’m super proud of it. Hopefully it’ll go live next week some time so I can share it with you.
  6. My friend’s fiancee’s band (Echo & Drake) is up for a chance to play at the Grammy’s! You can vote for them here (which I would really appreciate – as would they). I also scored them an interview with Hypable. Yay for sharing the love!
  7. I broke 5K words on Wednesday. Holy cow!!
  8. Added three more chapters to my spreadsheet for L1.

Points and Words

Each of my main goals gets FIVE POINTS. Bonus goals get TEN POINTS if they’re completed.

  • Week 1 – 95 points
  • Week 2 – 100 points

This week I wrote:

  • Week 1 – 8,284 words
  • Week 2 – 13,697 words

That brings my total words for the year up to: 30,804 words written since January 1, 2013

What book are you currently reading? Any I absolutely need to add to my (gigantic) TBR list?

Comments
  1. Laura says:

    Great job, well done. You are rocking those goals. Keep going.
    I am reading The Casual Vacancy by JK Rowling. Being a big Harry Potter fan I am finding this one strange to read but I am going to stick with it. x

    • Karen Rought says:

      I’m a huge Harry Potter fan too, and I also found the transition to TCV difficult to take in. But I thought it was a great story with a significant message. I really hope you like it!

  2. Love your numbers. Excellent goals. I currently doing a few of my yearly ‘craft’ books and am reading David Allen’s Getting Things Done and Photoshop Elements 6. Easy reading, not exactly, but I finished a Lori Foster before I dove into these. Keep up the great work. 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      Oh, boy! I bet that photoshop book puts you right to sleep. 😉 It’s an incredible program, but talk about complicated!! Thanks for stopping by, and I hope you learn lots of things from your craft books!

  3. Chris says:

    I’m actually reading Insurgent right now! Divergent was really good, and Insurgent is just as good. There’s a lot of deliberation in Insurgent, though. But it moves along alright.

    And congrats on those numbers! I’m super, super, super excited for you! 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      Ahhh, that’s good to hear! Sometimes sequels are such a disappointment. It’s always good when books you’re super invested in have strong followups.

      And, thanks!! 😀

  4. Wow, you kicked some serious butt this week! I’m proud of you!
    KEEP THAT UP! ❤

  5. Julie Glover says:

    I won’t light dynamite, but how about a few fireworks for your fabulous week?!! I’m so excited that you finished W1! Here’s to another wonderful week.

  6. S. J. Maylee says:

    Over 30k for the year already, you rock and you’ve accomplished so much more. Good for you. Keep that ball rolling.

  7. I’m impressed by your progress so far in this Round. Way to go! *confetti*

  8. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for an awesome week! *throws confetti* *blows trumpet* I can’t wait to read your article about Harry Potter on Hypable 🙂 Hope this week is just as productive!

  9. Cate Russell-Cole says:

    Hi Karen, it looks like Kait has hit some trouble and we have no mid-week check-in. So no one is left out, please come over to our Facebook group and leave a link to your check-in post and we will be over to visit. The page address is https://www.facebook.com/groups/row80/ Alternatively, email me at katiecrcole@gmail.com and I’ll pass your post on. I know Facebook isn’t everyone’s cup of tea!

    Should we have no Linky on Sunday, we’ll just keep working this way until things sort themselves out.

    Cheers!
    Cate (Round 1 Sponsor)

    • Karen Rought says:

      I don’t actually do mid-week check-ins, but I’ll definitely keep it in mind for Sunday! Thank you!!

      • Cate Russell-Cole says:

        My pleasure Karen. We have no idea if Kait is sick, snowed in or if something technical has happened. We just want to make sure no one is left out. I only check-in once a week too. Take care.

Tell me what you think!

