Five songs that make me feel awesome

Posted: December 10, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , ,

We all get down in the dumps. Especially artists, who tend to be a bit more sensitive than other types of people. There’s very little you can do to stop that negativity before it reaches you, and sometimes you just have to bear the brunt of it.

Whenever I feel like this whole “writer thing” isn’t for me, I turn to music. In no particular order, here are five songs that make me feel awesome.

ONE. “Mean” by Taylor Swift”


 
For a while there I played this song every day. It wasn’t that people were kicking me while I was down or anything, but sometimes this lifestyle can be so overwhelming and disheartening. This song really picks me back up. The chorus clinches it for me, and I just like yelling it at the top of my lungs.

Favorite Lines: “You can take me down with just one single blow, but you don’t know what you don’t know. Someday I’ll be livin’ in a big old city, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean. Someday I’ll be big enough so you can’t hit me, and all you’re ever gonna be is mean.”

TWO. “Before He Cheats” by Carrie Underwood


 
I’ve never been in the situation that Carrie sings about in this song, but no one can deny that the music and the lyrics are just so full of energy and girl power. It gets to me every time. I may or may not sing this one at the top of my lungs too…

Favorite Lines: “I might’ve saved a little trouble for the next girl, ‘cause the next time that he cheats, oh you know it won’t be on me.”

THREE. “I’m Just Sayin’” by Karmin


 
The chorus in this song reminds me that we shouldn’t listen to what other people say. If we want something, we need to work for it. And if we work for it hard enough, we will get it. The rest of the song attests to this truth with Karmin’s own story of being YouTube upstarts and landing a major record deal.

Favorite Lines: “Future in my hands, gotta make it count, convince yourself it’s feasible, then there’s nothin’ else.”

FOUR. “’Till I Collapse” by Eminem

*This is a fanmade video, as there is no official one for this song*

 
I played this song every time I went to a meet for my high school’s track team. I threw shot put and discus, which takes a lot of agility and a lot of power. I’d play this song on repeat until it was my time to throw. Its message of self-empowerment is strong, and it made me feel strong and helped me to get in the zone and stay focused. This song always pumps me up when I listen to it.

Favorite Lines: “Sometimes you just feel tired, feel weak, and when you feel weak, you feel like you wanna just give up. But you gotta search within you, you gotta find that inner strength, and just pull that shit out of you and get that motivation to not give up, and not be a quitter, no matter how bad you just wanna just fall flat on your face and collapse.”

FIVE. “Remember the Name” by Fort Minor


 
I’m pretty sure there’s a direct ratio between epicness and volume for this song. I’m also pretty sure that the chorus could apply to anything, but to writers especially. Sometimes we get so worked up over whether or not we’re “good enough,” when we honestly just have to remember that part of it is luck, part of it is skill, but even more of it is about working hard until you make your dreams come true.

Favorite lines: “This is ten percent luck, twenty percent skill, fifteen percent concentrated power of will, five percent pleasure, fifty percent pain, and a hundred percent reason to remember the name.”

What do you think of these songs? What are the songs that pump you up the most and remind you that you were BORN to be a writer?

Comments
  1. ddog13 says:

    I heavily agree with 4 and 5. For me, Dave Matthews always manages to make me feel awesome. His awesomeness just rubs off on anyone who listens to him.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha, I haven’t listened to the DMB in a while, but I remember liking their songs. And I had a feeling you’d like 4 and 5. 😉

      • ddog13 says:

        The rest are great too though. Carrie Underwood is always fantastic. I’m not one for country, but she’s definitely an exception. This was a really cool post idea. I may have to list off some pump-up songs of my own one day over at Gamerscene.

        • Karen Rought says:

          I feel the exact same way about country. And you definitely could. You should do a best soundtracks post! I bet Inception’s would be close to the top. 😛

          • ddog13 says:

            Hans Zimmer is just such a master that I would have to try hard not to make a top 5 list that just included him. GREAT idea, as I do have some knowledge of movie soundtracks.

  2. EM Castellan says:

    These days I really like “Try” by Pink. Usually not my kind of music but I love the lyrics.

  3. For me it varies, sometimes quite often. This week it’s ‘Within Temptation’s “Fire and Ice” mainly because it’s got such an infusion of epic-scale fantasy on the official video. Cool. Also typical of their stuff. (Coincidentally they live in the same town as my sister & her family in the Netherlands, which tells me the world is a really tiny place).

    Erik Norlander gets a look into the “cool music” list too, sometimes.

Tell me what you think!

