Works in Progress Blog Hop – ‘Lifetimes’

Posted: November 26, 2012 in General, Writing
Tags: , ,

Belle was kind enough to tag me in this awesome blog hop that’s been going around recently. It’s for our WIPs and basically we answer some questions about our current MS and pass the torch on to five more people. Sounds fun!

What is the working title of your next book?

Lifetimes.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

I think I was in a half dreaming state when I saw this vision in my head: four people standing over  a fifth person, who was lying on the ground. Three boys and one girl (aged in their early 20s) were looking down on a girl, someone who didn’t know where she was or even who she was. I wanted to know her story so badly, and to figure out who the other people were as well.

What genre does your book fall under?

Urban Fantasy.

Pale skin, dark hair, mischievous smile. A little bit of ‘dangerous’ written on the surface, but a good person underneath. That’s Chris.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

This is so hard!!! No fair. If I had to pick, I’d choose Nicholas Hoult to play Chris. He’s about as close looks wise and I may have recently totally fallen in love with him. 😀

I’m also kind of in love with Milla Jovovich. She’s awesome with fight sequences, and I think she’s great at finding both vulnerability and strength in the same character (which Hannah has  boatloads of each).

This is how I imagine Hannah when she’s actually happy. She doesn’t have much time to feel that way in the first book, unfortunately.

There are some other main characters, but it’s so hard to really know who would be an honest-to-goodness good fit. I don’t envy casting directors!

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?

A girl wakes up with no recollection of her past, thrown into a world of humans and half-breeds, and must find out who wants her dead and why.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I think I’m going to query it once it’s finished and see what happens. I’ll test the waters – if I feel like it could go somewhere, I’ll keep trying. If not, I’ll self-publish. I’m not adverse to either way.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

Two months, which is extremely fast for me. The story just sort of popped into my head fully formed and spewed out through my fingers in record time. It needs work because it all happened so fast, but I definitely like what I’ve got here.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

I would say that The Mortal Instruments was a big inspiration, but my story, while sharing some similar facts, goes in a totally different direction and is not really comparable at all. I set out to write something that fixed what I saw was wrong with that book and so many others like it. I don’t know if I accomplished that, but I sure had fun trying.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?

That half-dream vision. Books like The Mortal Instruments and Wicked Lovely, and similar Urban Fantasies.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

With this book in particular I tried so hard to avoid those things that drive me nuts about other YA novels. My biggest thing was to stay away from love triangles. They’ve been done over and over again and I’m tired of them. I like to stick with strong female characters and an interesting plot line that (hopefully) takes you around a few twists and turns you weren’t expecting. There’s romance, mystery, invented creatures, and some great one-liners. It’s a quick, fun read that I hope you guys will get a chance to see soon.

***

I’ve seen this blog hop making its rounds recently and I don’t want to tag anyone that’s already been tagged or chose not to participate when they were tagged the first time. Please take this as an open invitation: if you haven’t been tagged yet, go for it! And link back in the comments – I want to read about your books too!
Also, thanks again to Belle for tagging me. That was a lot of fun!

Comments
  1. EM Castellan says:

    I love hearing about what other writers are working on, and Lifetimes sounds interesting! Glad you decided to go for it and share 🙂

  2. Julie Glover says:

    I like that lead-in! Sounds intriguing, Karen.

  3. This sounds really intriguing 🙂 I love hearing what others are working on.

Tell me what you think!

