#ROW80 – R4C6 – A Question for You

Posted: November 11, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

This was a good week. And yesterday was a great day. I got so much done. Most of it doesn’t show up here, but just know that I worked my tail off and got so many projects wrapped up. By the end of the day, I was exhausted, but I was smiling from ear to ear.

Main Goals:

The list is short and sweet, but it’s also mandatory. I’m keeping it easy, manageable, and attainable this round. I have to get back to what’s important for me as a writer.

  1. Write or edit every day. 2/7 Mostly editing this time around, but I definitely did A LOT of editing. I wrote up a bit more of an outline on my latest idea too, which is nice.
  2. Read every day. 5/7 Whoa! I did lots of reading this week. And guess what?? I finished Eona!!! My review of the book is less than stellar, but I’m hesitant to say that I didn’t enjoy it. It was good enough, and the ending was nice. I’ve cracked open The Casual Vacancy now. Hopefully I’ll be able to get through it fairly quickly (though general consensus is that it takes a while to get going). I’m really excited at some of the other books I have waiting for me, so I’d like to finish this one as quickly as I can.

Bonus Points:

These are goals I hope to accomplish this week. They aren’t mandatory, but if I have time I should attempt them. They can be anything from exercising to finishing a certain story to organizing my desk. This week I’ve decided on these:

  1. Plan out three blog posts for next week so I’m prepared. Done! I’m definitely getting better at this, and I’ve stockpiled ideas for future blog posts as well. I’m hoping this means I’ll be able to stay on top of blogging three times a week like I used to. New goal is to take my latest beta reader feedback and update my short story collection.
  2. Finish editing chapter 1 and edit all of chapter 2. I got way into editing and did all this in one day. It’s nice going through my story again and picking up on things that I hope can make it stronger. New goal is to finish editing chapters 3 and 4 next.
  3. Hop back on the Triberr train. Did this! And it feels nice to be back. I missed sharing my fellow bloggers’ posts. They’re all so good! I want to keep up with this on a daily basis and continue to tweet out articles from great bloggers. My new goal is to keep up with my Facebook page on a daily basis, instead of forgetting about it for a week and then bombarding everyone with posts on a single day. Haha, whoops.

List of Awesome:

This is the list of things I’ve accomplished that don’t really have anything to do with ROW80 or the goals above. It’ll probably be mostly about Hypable and the things I’ve done over there, but I like sharing pictures and random things that are happening in my life. Everyone is always welcome to drop their own list of awesome in the comments below. I love reading them!

  1. I wrote another column for Hypable. This time it’s about why I think authors should appreciate fan-fiction (whether or not they believe it is infringement). Would love to know what you guys think!
  2. Two of my podcasts went up this week! Onceable covers episode 2×06 of the show Once Upon a Time and is titled “Fee Fi Fo Fum.” Not Another Teen Wolf Podcast covers episodes 1×03 and 1×04 of the show and is titled “Stealth Beanies and Dodgy Parkour.”
  3. I gave my accomplishments page a major update, so please check that out too!
  4. Jeff Davis (writer of Teen Wolf) tweeted our NATW Podcast account and thanked us for all the coverage we do on Hypable and said he’d check out our podcast some time. I can’t even grasp the possibility that he might listen to us. I just….asifoirgtngwvf…
  5. I got my short story collection back from one of my beta readers, yeah! She gave me a lot of great things to think about and I can’t wait to start editing it again.
  6. My blogiversary kind of snuck up on me – it was on Friday! One year of blogging. Can you believe it??

Points

I get 5 points for every main goal I complete, and 1 point for every bonus goal.

Week 1: 25
Week 2: 15
Week 3: 15
Week 4: 26
Week 5: 17
Week 6: 38

Before I let you go, I have a question for you guys (I need some advice). I mark my changes down on a hard copy of my MS (which I prefer to do because it’s easier for me to see the chapters as a whole), and then go back and update the computer version afterwards.

Should I update the computer version as I finish each chapter, or should I wait until the whole thing is done and then update the computer version? Do you see any logic in doing one above the other?

Comments
  1. I’d do chapter by chapter. That way it’s not overwhelming. Good luck! 🙂

  2. I edit like you do in your current process, and it works for me. IMO you need to be able to at least get a feel for the whole in order to ensure that the edits you make on each chapter contribute to your vision for the overall project. But like the previous commenter said, I just do one chapter at a time. Good luck, and have a great week!

  3. Woot for 38 points!
    Hm, my revisions and editings are never the same. The process changes with the manuscript. I never printed anything though. All in the computer … Though, if I did your way, I would do it chapter by chapter.
    Have fun with it!

  4. S. J. Maylee says:

    I agree, chapter by chapter sounds like a good plan for entering changes. You’ll know if it’s working for you. But, like Juliana, I’d leave yourself open to change.
    The news about Jeff Davis is pretty sweet, congratulations. 38-points, wow, Karen, you rocked it this week. Carry that wow factor into this week. Have a good one.

  5. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for a great week and happy blogiversary! 🙂

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Fabulous week, Karen! Keep up the great work. You’re making lots of progress.

Tell me what you think!

