#ROW80 – R4C3 – Staying Positive

Posted: October 21, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

Another week down and I keep looking at my calendar saying, “Is it really nearly the end of October?” Not that I’m complaining. I’m looking forward to Halloween like nobody’s business. I plan on eating tons of junk food and candy, watching movies like Hocus Pocus and Halloweentown, and staying up late for the Ghosthunters Halloween special.

Yeah, I haven’t had this planned out since last year or anything.

Anyway, on to the goals:

Main Goals:

The list is short and sweet, but it’s also mandatory. I’m keeping it easy, manageable, and attainable this round. I have to get back to what’s important for me as a writer.

  1. Write or edit every day. 2/7 Two times is far more than I’ve done lately, and more than I thought I’d get done. It allowed me to finish editing two whole short stories too, so I’m extremely happy with that. The next short story is a big one, but I’m hoping to get it done this week. Fingers crossed!
  2. Read every day. 1/7 I caught some time while waiting at the dentist’s office, so I read a few pages but nothing more. It’s a good book, but not much in it drags me back like some of my favorites. I want to know what happens, but I don’t really care too much about the story in general. But I’m nearly done with it, so I can’t just put it aside. Maybe this week I’ll get through it so I can start The Casual Vacancy.

Bonus Points:

These are goals I hope to accomplish this week. They aren’t mandatory, but if I have time I should attempt them. They can be anything from exercising to finishing a certain story to organizing my desk. This week I’ve decided on these:

  1. Plan out three blog posts for next week so I’m prepared. I sort of did this, but not really, so I guess it doesn’t count. I do have some ideas for this week though, so I’m hoping to be prepared and able to deliver.
  2. Exercise at least once. I didn’t do this but — good news — I weighed myself this morning. After three months off the scales and not really caring what I ate…I lost a pound! Whoa. I wasn’t expecting that. I’ve been itching to get back into my DDR recently, so maybe I’ll give that a go a couple times this week.
  3. Visit three ROW80 blogs and comment. I know I hit up some blogs, but I can’t remember how many. Sorry I keep dropping the ball on you guys! I still see a lot of what you write, though, so I’m around even if I don’t make myself known. 🙂

List of Awesome:

This is the list of things I’ve accomplished that don’t really have anything to do with ROW80 or the goals above. It’ll probably be mostly about Hypable and the things I’ve done over there, but I like sharing pictures and random things that are happening in my life. Everyone is always welcome to drop their own list of awesome in the comments below. I love reading them!

  1. I finished series 2 of Sherlock and loved it. Expect a blog post on that and some of the other things I’ve been watching recently.
  2. I got my new headset so hopefully I sound better on my podcasts now!
  3. My mouse died, so I had to get a new one. It’s purple! (And, yes, I mean my computer mouse.)
  4. I found this awesome Dalek pumpkin on the internet and I’m seriously considering trying my hand at it.

Points

I get 5 points for every main goal I complete, and 1 point for every bonus goal.

Week 1: 25
Week 2: 15
Week 3: 15

Well, at least I’m staying consistent. I’ve got tons of blog ideas bouncing around my head right now and I’m about sit down and do some serious writing. And editing! I’m enjoying getting back into my own work after being away from it for so long. I’ve got my hair tied up like Violet from A Series of Unfortunate Events. I mean business!

Have you guys done anything fun and exciting this week?

Comments
  1. EM Castellan says:

    Love the Robotic Dalek Pumpkin! Hope you have a good writing week 🙂

  2. I love this time of year…we’re having friends over to watch scary movies and play board games on Halloween. I’ve got to remember to get candy too, since this is our first year in an actual house and we’re liable to have honest-to-goodness trick or treaters! 🙂 Best of luck on your goals this week and enjoy that fun Halloween plan.

  3. Julie Glover says:

    Sherlock is awesome! I need to finish season 2. Hope you can get some more writing and reading done this week. Congrats on that pound (I’d like to lose a few myself). 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. HOCUS POCUS! How come I didn’t think of that movie to watch with my daughter? Gonna see if I can find it asap! LOVE IT!
    I love this point system you came up with. I might “borrow” it for me too 😉
    Have a great week, Karen!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Best Halloween movie ever, right!? ABC family plays it a lot around this time if you get that channel.

      Feel free to steal! It really helps you to quantify your goals and see how you fluctuate from week to week.

Tell me what you think!

