#ROW80 Round 4 – Stating My Intent

Posted: September 30, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , , , ,

The official start date for round 4 of ROW80 is just a few days away, and I’m here to let you guys know what I’ll be up to for the next few months.

This past year has been a bit crazy for me. The first round was really solid – not a perfect round, but I got a lot accomplished and really came into my own as a writer. The second round was another good one, and I learned from the mistakes of the first one. The third round fizzled out quickly because life got in the way, but it felt good to take a break for a while.

Now with the fourth round right on the horizon, I know what is feasible and what is out of reach. In general, I tend to overreach and overwork myself. Sometimes that’s a bad thing, sometimes that’s a good thing. Lately it’s been a bad thing. Here’s what I’ve got planned to remedy that habit for this round:

Main Goals:

The list is short and sweet, but it’s also mandatory. I’m keeping it easy, manageable, and attainable this round. I have to get back to what’s important for me as a writer.

  1. Write or edit every day. It doesn’t matter how much or how little. It doesn’t matter what I write, but I must write something related to my personal current project at least three times a week. (In other words, writing columns, blog posts, etc. doesn’t count.) Editing other people’s stories doesn’t count toward this goal either. I also need to make sure I keep writing and editing fairly balanced, as I’d like to work on both simultaneously and not focus on one or the other.
  2. Read every day. I don’t care if it’s a page or a chapter, as long as it’s a published book (and not an editing or critiquing project). My goal to read 25 books this year hasn’t been going as smoothly as I wanted it to, and now it’s time to step up my game.

Bonus Points:

These are goals I hope to accomplish this week. They aren’t mandatory, but if I have time I should attempt them. They can be anything from exercising to finishing a certain story to organizing my desk. This week I’ve decided on these:

  1. Plan out three blog posts for next week so I’m prepared.
  2. Exercise at least once. (I’m slowly easing myself back into this one.)
  3. Visit three ROW80 blogs and comment. (I’ve been terrible on this front for the last two rounds and I apologize.)

List of Awesome:

This is the list of things I’ve accomplished that don’t really have anything to do with ROW80 or the goals above. It’ll probably be mostly about Hypable and the things I’ve done over there, but I like sharing pictures and random things that are happening in my life. Everyone is always welcome to drop their own list of awesome in the comments below. I love reading them!

  1. I found out this week that 9,500 entries were seen by the 81st Annual Writer’s Digest contest panel. There were 10 winners across 10 categories, for a total of 100 winners. Being in that top 10% feels pretty good! I also realized that I won 6th place for the genre short story competition, which contained all genres – romance, mystery, fantasy, etc. I’d say that’s a triumph for horror for sure!
  2. This week I picked up The Avengers on DVD and The Casual Vacancy. Avengers was just as funny as I remembered it being, and I’m really excited to watch the bonus features soon. I haven’t started TCV just yet. I need to finish Eona and then I can do that. Soon!
  3. I’m about halfway through season 6 of Supernatural. The last half of season 4 and the first half of season 5 have been my favorite so far. I’m not enjoying season 6 too much, but I think it just hit its stride so I’m excited to get back into it. I mostly just wait around to see Castiel on my screen. He may or may not be my favorite thing about the show right now! (Must get caught up by Wednesday so I can watch season 8 when it begins on TV!)
  4. The winner for the Teen Wolf fan-fiction contest has not been announced yet. They had a few more entries than they were expecting and have had to read through 10,000 of them. Whoa! They’ve promised an announcement soon, so I hope everyone keeps their fingers crossed for me!

I’m going to be scoring myself this round. 5 points for each of my main goals. 1 point for each bonus goal I can complete. I like the idea of comparing scores from week to week and maybe eventually from round to round. I know some of you mentioned you like how I set up my goals and my recap at the end of each round, so just know that I have no qualms if you want to steal any of my ideas. Whatever makes the round better for you!

Good luck everyone. Hope to see you a lot this round.

What’s one thing you’re really hoping to accomplish this round?

Comments
  1. EM Castellan says:

    Season 6 of Supernatural was the last one that I enjoyed watching. I thought season 7 was terrible, with episodes either rehashing themes/monsters/ideas or completely out of character. I’ll be curious to hear what you think of it (I don’t want to put you off watching it, though!). Good luck with your ROW80 goals!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Yeah, I’m really afraid that it’s going downhill, but I want to keep an open mind. I just got to the part in s6 when Sam got his soul back, so I’m hoping things get better from here on out. I’m just so over them fighting all the time, you know? It’s stressing me out!

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    Good list of goals you have there. I’m sure you’re gonna do great.
    Wow, congrats on the 81st Annual Writer’s Digest contest! That’s amazing!
    My husband used to watch Supernatural but he stopped around season 6 saying it had become horrible. I think of trying to go through it and see if it gets better after season 7 …
    Have a great round, Karen!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    Congrats on placing in the contest! Wow, Karen!

    I like your streamlined goals. The one thing I MUST do this round is a complete rewrite of my YA contemporary novel, particularly changing the POV.

    Best wishes for Round 4! I’ll be checking in with you.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Ooh! A complete rewrite is never fun, but it’s ALWAYS worth it. I had a half finished novel I did that to once and even that took a long time. But it was the best thing for my story. Good luck!

Tell me what you think!

