#ROW80 – Round 3 Wrap Up

Posted: September 23, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

I know I’ve been MIA the past few days, and a little shoddy when it comes to making sure I have posts up. In my defense, I have A LOT of (good) things going on right now. This week, I’m hoping to get a couple major projects off my plate, like I did last week, and finally get some consistency back in my life.

As with round 2, I’m going to wrap it up with a list of everything I’ve accomplished. It’s better to focus on the positives, and I always feel better when I realize how much I actually did get done in only a few months.

  1. Finished writing three short stories, plus began editing my collection
  2. Saw The Amazing Spider-man and The Dark Knight Rises – both of which were awesome
  3. Began my obsession with TeeFury – I now have a Sailor Moon shirt and a Dalek shirt
  4. Finished a LONG overdue critique
  5. Had both my collection and my novel critiqued by beta readers
  6. Read 7 books
  7. Began editing a series of books (and got paid for it!)
  8. Became a columnist, newswriter, and podcaster for Hypable
  9. Got to see Karmin in concert – TWICE
  10. Added an accomplishments page to my blog
  11. Surpassed 10,000 goals on my blog
  12. Wrote a Teen Wolf fanfiction and entered it into a contest (hoping to find out who wins soon!)
  13. Won 6th place in the 81st annual Writer’s Digest Genre Short Story contest with my horror short titled, “The Body”

It’s a short list, but I’d consider a lot of them big, time-consuming goals. I’m happy! This round started out very strong, but got away from me about a month in. I haven’t done much with my goals lately and it’s been nice to be able to work on things that need to get done outside of my own personal projects. However, I do miss my own stories, so I’m hoping to return to them in the next round.

For my next round, I’m revamping the way I do my check-ins (again). I’m going to make my main goals easier to attain, and strive to get some “bonus points” in there. I’m also going to continue sharing some extra stuff with you (now appropriately named my “list of awesome”) so you guys can check out what else I’m doing if you’re interested.

I hope everyone had a good round – a better one than me. I didn’t accomplish nearly as much as I thought I would, but I’m still feeling burnt out. I’ve got a lot on my plate right now, but I do like to stay busy. I think I’m going to have to call upon some serious time management skills if I want to continue doing everything that I enjoy.

I’m going to state my intent for round 4 soon, and I hope to see you guys there!

Comments
  1. Dad says:

    I’m proud to say you are my AWESOME daughter.

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Haha, I love you Dad’s comment 🙂 I think focussing on the positives is exactly the spirit of ROW80, and you did accomplish a lot. I didn’t know about your short story winning 6th place, that’s great, congrats!

  3. Juliana Haygert says:

    I’m glad I’m not the only one posting the last checkin today lol
    Wow, Karen, lots accomplished!
    I didn’t know about your short story. CONGRATS!
    Hope your next round goes even better 😉

  4. Julie Glover says:

    I also posted my ROW80 round update today. You got a lot done, Karen! How exciting about the short story place. Best wishes with everything you have on your plate!

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    You had a fabulous round. Congratulations on the short story too. See you in round 4.

Tell me what you think!

