#ROW80 – R3C10 – Fanfiction Madness

Posted: September 9, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

By the end of this week, it’ll be halfway through September. Just let that sink in for a minute. And then it’ll be October. OCTOBER. I’m a summer person myself, but I’m really, really looking forward to Halloween. Not for any particular reason (well, other than the obligated candy-eating), but just because that time of year makes me happy and I enjoy watching family-friendly Halloween movies.

This week was a busy week for me again, though not in terms of checking off goals. Just like before, I’m still pretty happy with what I got done, and I’ve got some cool things to share with you in the “Extra Stuff” section. Hope everyone is having a good September so far, even if it hasn’t been very productive.

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 0/5 At this point, I think we can just say I’m obviously avoiding this goal…
  2. Edit or write every day. 3/7 Better than last week! And yesterday I wrote ALL day. I did about 4,000 words on a Teen Wolf fanfiction that I turned in for a contest. I pretty much started it yesterday (I wanted to rewatch the second season and that took longer than I had expected) and it was due at midnight. When I finally finished at about 10:00 (yeah, PM…) I had to cut 1,000 words and edit it still. I ended up turning it in at 11:58. WHOA. But I did it. I wish I could’ve read it over again, but I’m pretty happy with the story. Please wish me luck – the winner gets to meet the creator of the show (Jeff Davis) and visit the writing room. HOW AWESOME WOULD THAT BE?
  3. Read one chapter every day. 0/7 Man, I really meant to finish this book this week. I’ll try to do it this time around!

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Nothing to report here.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Nothing to report here either.

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I ended up having an online Hypable staff meeting yesterday that lasted for nearly three hours. It should’ve been boring and uneventful, but it just solidified my love for this team of people that happen to live all around the world (bummer). We need to work on getting offices and stationary and t-shirts ASAP.
  2. My latest column was called Battle of the archers: Who’s your favorite? It only got 20-some comments, but over 400 people voted in the poll. That’s amazing! Who would you pick as your favorite? (And it doesn’t have to be one from the list if you have a different choice!)
  3. We also recorded another episode of Onceable, Hypable’s Once Upon a Time podcast. This one is called “Fairest of them All” and we talked in depth about Snow White/Mary Margaret. I also reviewed the DVD bonus features, which I thought were really good.
  4. I’ve also been reporting on some Teen Wolf and Rick Riordan news (he wrote Percy Jackson) if you’re interested. You can check those out (and other updates) by clicking on the “Accomplishments” tab at the top of this blog.
  5. Lots of my favorite shows are starting up this month. I wish I had a DVR!!

How have YOU been doing? What’s one awesome thing you’ve accomplished this week, big or small? Are you looking forward to Halloween?

Comments
  1. Good luck on the fanfic! That is so cool that the show’s creator is in favor of it – and sees it for the great promo it is for the show!

    I completed revisions of a short story and got it out to my beta readers, so I’m happy with my ROW80 week, even though there were several other items I didn’t get around to. I’ve never really gotten into Halloween, so I can’t say I’m looking forward to it. But have fun with yours!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Isn’t it!? And although my story had nothing to do with it, Davis was also accepting all kinds of stories – even non-canon pairings (which is a huge thing in this fandom). It makes me feel like they appreciate the fans as people, not just as ratings.

      Hey, that’s a huge accomplishment. Congrats and good luck with that! Hope you have a great fall anyway, even if Halloween isn’t your favorite!

  2. October is also my favorite time of year. I think it’s because it’s cooler and darker.

    In the meantime, good luck on the contest! Sounds like you’ve had a pretty productive week even if you didn’t meet your goals.

    • Karen Rought says:

      October is just a super inspiring month for me. It’s that transition between summer and fall and all those Halloween stories just make me want to write. I thrive under dark and stormy conditions when it comes to my writing!

  3. EM Castellan says:

    The Teen Wolf contest sounds great! Best of luck with that! I had to vote Katniss in the archers’ poll but Legolas is awesome too. What can I say, girl power comes first 🙂 Have a great week and happy writing!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I voted Hawkeye, but I think it’s just because Jeremy Renner is such……..a good actor. 😉 But I really loved his scene in Avengers that I referenced too.

      Yeah, girl power! Wait till you see the post I have going up tomorrow. I think you’ll like it.

  4. EM Castellan says:

    I didn’t really notice Jeremy Renner in The Avengers but I thought he did a great job in The Bourne Legacy. I went to see the movie thinking it would be bad because Matt Damon wasn’t in it, and I came out of the theatre thinking it was a great movie because Jeremy Renner was in it. I can’t wait for tomorrow’s post, what a tease 😉

  5. Ha, I hear you on avoiding the exercise goal *blushes with guilt*. Also, some of the stuff in the Extra Stuff explains a lot about not meeting the other goals. And, well, life sometimes throws a curveball, like the 3-hour staff meeting. How cool that it was not boring!

    Best of luck on the fanfic–as Jennette said, how neat that there is an accepting attitude towards it.

    Have a great week, Karen!

  6. Juliana Haygert says:

    4000 words in one day is amazing! Good job!
    I love seeing how happy you are with Hypable! It’s contagious 😉
    Have a great week!

  7. S. J. Maylee says:

    Almost 1/2 to October, oh my. I love fall, actually enjoy all the seasons. Halloween is a fun time in my house, so that should be fun. You seem to be having all kinds of fun lately, I’m so happy for you. I had to vote Katniss 🙂 I pitched to 3-publishers this weekend thru an on-line chat and got requests from all 3. Kind of floating on cloud nine, even though it’s just one small step in.
    Have a great week, Karen.

  8. Julie Glover says:

    Sweet word count, Karen! How awesome to get that time to write. I’m knee-deep in edits. Beware: I’m brandishing highlighters and a red pen! Have a lovely week.

  9. Fabio Bueno says:

    Floored by the 4,000 word count. Way to go!

Tell me what you think!

