#ROW80 – R3C7 – Fun Stuff

Posted: August 19, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

This week started off strong, but I’ve been buried under a whole slew of new responsibilities and it’s gotten in the way of most of my goals. I’m not worried about it. I’m slowly climbing up through the rubble and back out into fresh air. It’s just taking me a little longer than usual.

I don’t have a whole bunch of things to check off the list this week, but I have TONS of updates to share with you guys. They’re really exciting, so I hope you enjoy them as much as I am!!

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 1/5 Ouch. Rough week for exercising. I also haven’t weighed myself in a while. I really need to get back on track with this goal.
  2. Edit or write every day. 5/7 I’m happy with my progress here. I sat down and got super organized last weekend. I even plotted out my 12 book novella series that’s currently singing a siren song for me. I haven’t given up on my other projects, but while my beta readers are finishing up my novel, I’m glad to continue working on this one. I’m really excited I finally figured out what direction I’m going in. All that organization will pay off soon!
  3. Read one chapter every day. 3/7 I haven’t touched the book in a few days. This was more about not having time than not enjoying the story. Hopefully I’ll be able to pick it up again soon and finish it shortly.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Edit story #2 in my collection. Still working on this.
  2. Pick one contest or one magazine I’d like to participate in for this month. Done. I chose an e-magazine to submit one of my better horror stories. I’m going to wait until I get to editing this story before I do anything more with this goal.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. This is 100% complete and now just needs to be edited again (and again, and again, and again…).
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% One beta reader finished and the other is getting close. Soon!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Getting closer to achieving this goal! I have my magazine picked out. Now I need to edit, edit, edit!
  4. Read at least four books this month. 50% And working on another one!

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I wrote another column for Hypable, which you can check out here. It’s about the TV show Teen Wolf and why I think you should give it a try, even though MTV doesn’t have a good track record.
  2. And in an awesome twist of fate, I’m also covering news on Teen Wolf for Hypable now too! It was a really surprising, but really exciting (!!!), thing that just happened the other day. Extremely grateful to have this to do now as well. At the moment I’ve only written three articles, but more are sure to come (especially when the season picks up again next year). If you’re interested, you can check them out here and just look for my name under the pictures. 😉
  3. Next, I want to mention that another episode of Onceable (Hypable’s brand new Once Upon a Time podcast that I’m on) is up on the site and ready to be downloaded! We’ve also added a new member that you might know – the always lovely Jessica Chapman!!
  4. I went to my local Renaissance Festival today and it was AWESOME. Can’t wait to share pictures with you guys – looks for that on Friday.
  5. I’ve got exciting news for a friend of mine come Wednesday, so make sure you don’t miss that either!
  6. I got The Hunger Games on DVD yesterday and probably blubbered through more of it this time than I did when I watched it the first (and second!) time in theatres…

That’s all for now. Thanks for your continued support. I honestly don’t know what I’d do without you guys. It’s amazing to be able to share our successes with each other and never once feel any hint of animosity or jealousy about them. ROW80 is such a community and the positivity that comes out of each and every one of you is infectious. I’m so glad I found this group, and I just can’t tell you how much I appreciate all of you.

I’m sending virtual hugs to every single one of you!! ❤

Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Congrats on the great news! Awesome!
    I admit I never watched Teen Wolf, but have been hearing so much about it, I want to see it now …

    “I’m so glad I found this group, and I just can’t tell you how much I appreciate all of you.” << DITTO!

    Have a great week, Karen 😉

    • Karen Rought says:

      I think you’d really enjoy it. It’s a bit dark, very funny, and full of romance and the supernatural. I think it has a little bit of everything for anyone, if they’d give it a chance!

      Thank you, and I hope your week is spectacular as well!!!

  2. ddog13 says:

    This is really cool. I’ve been aware of these posts for a while but I was never really sure 100% as to what they were. Now that I’ve seen what this is I think it’s really good for you to keep track and set goals. Without goals, we accomplish nothing.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Agree!! It’s the best way for me to track my progress and I can’t even begin to say how inspiring and motivating it is when people take the time to read these updates and cheer me on.

  3. Fabio Bueno says:

    Congrats on your new gig, Karen!
    Love how you keep track of your goals. Measurable and organized. You’re one busy girl.
    And I’m looking forward to pics from the Renaissance Faire! 🙂

  4. S. J. Maylee says:

    I’m looking forward to the pics too. Your Hypable news is pretty exciting, congratulations 😀
    I’ve never watched it either, but I suspect I will be checking it out. Hope you’re relaxing into a great week.

  5. EM Castellan says:

    Congrats for getting to cover news on Teen Wolf for Hypable! I love this show 🙂 I’m going to check out your posts now…

    • Karen Rought says:

      Oh, thank you!! It’s a great show and I’m glad that you like it too. I’m trying to bring more people in for it on Hypable. We don’t have a huge fan base yet, but I know they’re out there!!

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Good week overall, especially with all that you’ve been adding to your plate lately. Congrats on the Hypable stuff. Best wishes getting more exercise and reading in this week.

  7. Congratulations on landing the Hypable job! It sounds as though you are motoring through your goals, even if slower than planned. I am a tortoise myself, and totally believe in slow and steady winning the race. I hope you have a lovely rest of the week!

Tell me what you think!

