#ROW80 – R3C6 – Rest & Relaxation

Posted: August 12, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

I took this past week off from ROW80. I read about three chapters and didn’t do anything else. No writing. No exercising. I didn’t even blog on Friday.

It was nice.

Part of me feels guilty, because I know I was just being lazy. I’m going to blame it on the obscene amount of stress I’ve been feeling both from work and home, and hope you guys just go with it. It isn’t stress that I can control, so I’m just trying to let it roll off me from now on.

It also isn’t stress to worry about. Nothing bad is going on with me or anything like that. Let’s just say…this will be an interesting chapter in the book about my life and leave it at that. 😉

More to the point, I’m going to get back on track now. Here’s a rundown of what I’m trying to accomplish this round, in case you’ve forgotten. Hopefully I’ll have some cool things to report to you for next week.

Today is for organization, which is something I’ve need for a while.

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week.
  2. Edit or write every day.
  3. Read one chapter every day.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Edit story #2 in my collection.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers.
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now.
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine.
  4. Read at least four books this month.

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I’ve updated my “Projects” page and I’ve added an “Accomplishments” page.
  2. Not much else to report right now, but hopefully I’ll have a few good things for the next couple weeks!
Comments
  1. Ah, the “little break.” Those are necessary, but I notice that if I try to schedule them, I always want to write during them. So I tend to take them unscheduled.

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    And I know all about stress, dear. I live with stress. I’m the most stressed person in the whole world and it’s really easy to irritate me and make more stressed lol My husband says I won’t live to my 40s if I keep being stressed like this.
    Oh, but a break is always good. It helps with stress 😉
    Hope you feel better next week!

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    I think I heard somewhere before, something along the lines of: If it makes us feel good, we’ll feel guilty about it. We feel guilty for not being overly focused and one track minded. And that’s bull. Relaxing is good! You did the right thing. Kick your guilt out and make it move back in with its mom.

    Plus, stress sucks. And stress leads to ulcers and ulcers suck even more than stress. And what’s worse than an ulcer? The ulcer diet. Just saying.

  4. S. J. Maylee says:

    Stress does suck and it will keep sucking until you kick its sorry butt to the curb. Good for you for acting on what you needed and then getting back into the game.

  5. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for taking a week off and relaxing! You shouldn’t feel guilty about it at all. If you’re stressed, you can’t write at your full potential and the whole point of ROW80 is to make the most of the writing time you have. So good luck with your goals for the end of this round and happy writing!

  6. Julie Glover says:

    As you know, I threw up my hands a few weeks ago and took a big break. Letting yourself off the hook can be the best choice you have. Best wishes getting some things knocked out this week! Cheering you on. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

