Treasures from Around the World

Posted: August 8, 2012 in Wandering Bard
Tags: , , , , , ,

Wednesdays are usually reserved for art, but today I’m going to stretch that definition just a little bit. I want to show you guys some of the cool things I’ve picked up from my travels over the years.

Now, I’ve been known to keep everything from my receipts for chocolate (because I can’t go to a new country and not try their chocolate) to my tags for luggage. But these souvenirs are more beautiful, and all picked out to represent the country I was in.

First up is a gorgeous plate from Morocco. It’s all hand-hammered metal, inlaid with different colors. It was so hard to pick out just one because they had a million of them! I love the colors in this one though, and it was the perfect size. I gave it to my Mom. 🙂

This vase on the left is from France. Normandy, to be specific. They had these things all over the place. They’re handmade and so beautiful! On the right is a mini Eiffel Tower. Both were also gifts for my mom. (Although she was a little put off when she saw the size of the Eiffel Tower that I got myself, haha.)

My mom loves the ocean and the beach, so naturally she’d collect sand. These are from my various trips. Sometimes, when I’m lucky, I can find a bottle with the name of the country on it too.

Here’s my Eiffel Tower. Mom’s is about 2” tall. Mine is about a foot tall. She was a little jealous, haha.

I actually didn’t pick this up on one of my trips, but it did come from another country! My friend from Argentina gave it to me. It’s used to hold mate, a type of tea. (I tried the tea. It was really gross.)

These came from Greece. They’re two of my favorite goddesses – Artemis and Aphrodite. I wanted a whole set of them, but that would’ve been waaaay expensive.

Yes, yes that is a chocolate frog box in the background…

Here’s another gift I’ve received. This is a keychain/cell phone charm from Korea I got as a present from a friend who went there for a Karate tournament.

These are also from Morocco. We went into a giant store full of awesome mosaics and neat pieces like this. I know they’re miniatures of some traditional dishes in Moroccan culture, but I can’t remember exactly what they were for.

This one is from France. I love the original painting, and it seemed only fitting to get this neat clock! Only…it’s really, really loud. So it stays in our basement.

Lastly, this is a beautiful fan I brought home for my mom. It’s from Seville, Spain. These are the big thing over there and I have a weird affinity for fans anyway, so I had to get one! They’re hand painted and made of wood and cloth.

What kinds of things have you picked up from your travels? What is the one thing you would have to pick up if you got a chance to go to your dream country?

Comments
  1. artstylelove says:

    Awesome. I have a collection as well that I am waiting to pass down one day : )

  2. Julie Glover says:

    I have been to exactly one other country–Mexico. I was so broke when I went there with friends in college. The only souvenir I have is a hand-crafted bracelet I bought from a street vendor in the Zocalo (square). I did shop around for a long time looking for the one I wanted, and I treasure that bracelet to this day.

    In my father’s travels, he has picked up quite a few things and gifted them to me. From the Middle East, I have a jewelry box from Egypt, a leather book carrier from Israel, a cedar wood beaded bracelet from Lebanon, and an opal ring from a jeweler in Jerusalem. Even if I can’t go, it’s lovely when someone brings you back something from their own trips. I’m sure your mother is enjoying her stuff.

    The items you chose are beautiful. There is something amazing about how humans naturally want to make even our functional items appealing to the eye. I’m especially drawn to the simple beauty of that vase and Greek goddesses. Thanks for sharing, Karen.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Sometimes the simplest treasures are the ones we love the most. It sounds like you have some great presents that you’ve received over the years! I’m always amazed by the craftsmanship and talent found in the smallest of towns all across the globe. People are amazing.

  3. Absolutely gorgeous! I love it. I usually don’t bring stuff back from my travels because I never know how to pack it with weight restrictions etc…but you’ve inspired me to leave room for some beautiful additions to our home!!!

    • Karen Rought says:

      It’s so much fun having things around the house to remind me of my travels. They’re great conversation pieces too. I try not to go crazy when I travel and buy a lot of things, but sometimes it’s hard to resist!

  4. Wonderful collection – there’s nothing like having a few things of this ilk as a legacy of travelling. Curiously, we also have that Salis picture, as a poster – purchased from a stall on the Rue de Lafayette one evening. Cool to see it as a clock!

  5. Debra Kristi says:

    I love collecting things on our travels. Something I’ve started doing is picking up a special ornament on every trip. Now our Christmas tree reflects all our trip and that makes it all the more special. I really love that! And you’d be surprised how easy those are to find no matter what time of year it is. Of course, my tree has gotten rather crowded over the years. I can never buy just one.

  6. Mary says:

    I love picking up something for my home or a piece of jewelry on many of my trips. My favorite? A Moroccan tea pot and set of tea glasses.

Tell me what you think!

