Karmin in Concert

Posted: August 6, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , , , , ,

This post is a late one, but hopefully I’ll be back to my usual schedule soon.

Yesterday I told you that I went to see Karmin in concert on Saturday. It was amazing! This was just another point to add to my long list of reasons why I love this duo. If you’re unfamiliar with them, check out this post I wrote a while back for some history. If you’re lazy (and I wouldn’t blame you if you were), then all you need to know is that Karmin is made up of Amy and Nick, who got their start on YouTube and got famous covering Chris Brown’s “Look at Me Now.”

Well, the day started off with sweltering temperatures. I went with my two BFFs and we wandered the grounds of the Spiedie Fest for a couple of hours. (For those of you who aren’t in the know – which is about 99.8% of the world – a “spiedie” is specially marinated chicken thrown in a hot dog bun, sub roll, or piece of bread. Pretty simple, but oh-so-delicious.) We got in line around 5:30, and the concert wasn’t supposed to start until 7:00.

So, we waited.

And waited.

And waited.

Finally they let us in. And we waited some more.

At 7:00 on the dot, a 13 year-old-girl got up on stage and began performing. She was pretty good, but her vocals weren’t super strong. Still, she had a great stage presence and she really didn’t sound that nervous. I believe she sang original songs, because I didn’t recognize any of them. The crowd started getting restless and didn’t really respond well to her, except for clapping at the end of each song. I felt bad because we were all hot and tired and just wanted to see Karmin, which wasn’t her fault at all. But she finished out strong and got one more performance under her belt, which is all that matters.

Then we waited some more.

Apparently they were having technical difficulties because it took them over an hour to set up the equipment. I think it had to do with the mics. When they finally came on after 9:00 (they were supposed to start at 8( we were all so relieved and super excited!

They started off the concert with a brand new song. I don’t know what it was called, but it was awesome. It was another rap and I just remember thinking the lyrics were really great. Something closer to the harder raps that she does like “I Told You So.” I’ll be looking forward to getting that one.

Then they sang every song on their album, save for “Brokenhearted,” which is their biggest hit to date. At this point my one friend, who hadn’t really heard much of them before this, turned to me and said, “This just made me a fan of them.” She really, really enjoyed them and loved all of their songs. I’m going to give her my CD to download the next time I see her. I love converting people into fans of the things I love with such a passion.

Amy: “Some people say, ‘Amy, you’re hogging the spotlight. This is a duo. What about Nick?’ And I say, they’re absolutely right. There’s an awfully handsome man up here. It’s his turn to sing.”

And here’s Amy stepping to the side and letting Nick sing. These two are so adorable together.

Next, she asked who could rap to the song “Look at Me Now.” I raised my hand because I’ve practiced so hard to get most of those lyrics down. I can’t do the entire song (read: the really fast part in the middle gets me every time), but I can do a good portion of it. She asked who wanted to come up on stage and do the song with her and I promptly ducked down and out of sight. Sorry! Too shy! The girl who went up did a good job, but she was a little overwhelmed I think – and rightly so! It was a fairly big audience and those lights are bright. Amy finished out the song – flawlessly, I might add – and the girl went back to her spot in the crowd with a big grin on her face.

Next, Nick told us that he was really sorry about the wait and thanked us for being so patient while they got it figured out. In return, he asked us if we wanted an extra song…

“YEAH!!!!”

So they sang their cover of Nicki Minaj’s “Super Bass,” which is another favorite of mine.

They had us sing the beginning to their song “Brokenhearted” without any music playing, and we sounded awesome. I can’t even begin to imagine what it must’ve felt like for them to experience something like that when, just about a year ago, they were making homemade YouTube videos of themselves and posting them online.

What a rush that must be.

Amy sang “Brokenhearted” and they exited the stage, thanking us for being such good singers and promising to come back soon. I hope they do!

My friends and I scurried around to the side of the stage hoping that they’d come over and do some signings (there were no backstage passes like we were hoping there would be). And guess what? They did! They were super gracious and took pictures, hugged, and signed everything that they could. I even heard stories that their manager kept trying to usher them out of there, but Amy kept ignoring him, ha! When I got a chance to say something to Amy, I told her that they did an incredible job – she was so thankful and really appreciative of that.

Can I just say right here, right now, that I hope they never, ever change. It’s so important to me that the people in the entertainment business that I look up to are humble, gracious, kind, and appreciative of their fans. I don’t care how much talent you have – if you’re not a good person, I can’t fully support you. Too many actors and musicians and artists think they can act like they own the world when, really, we’re the ones that give them that power.

Right. Soap box.

Anyway, that was my experience meeting Amy and Nick from Karmin. It was a perfect way to end the night, especially because I got to spend it with two of my best friends. If everything goes right (read: if I bribe the right people), I might actually get to go see Karmin again in a couple of weeks.

No, I’m not obsessed. I’m just…enthusiastic.

🙂

Did you ever participate in a talent show or contest? If so, have you ever had a less than stellar crowd? Have you met any of your idols? Were you disappointed by their behavior, or were they everything you’d hope they’d be?

Tell me what you think!

