ROW80 – R3C5 – So Much for Perfect

Posted: August 5, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

Well, there goes my perfect record.

Life got in the way on Friday. Someone very close to me sort of…went off the grid for a few hours. It was a horrible feeling – that gut wrenching, panic inducing, heart pounding terror that occurs when you realize you might never see someone again.

Needless to say, I didn’t bother thinking about ROW80.

Everything is settled now. Everyone is fine. No damage was done, actually, and we’re all in good spirits again. I’ll be back on track for next week. I’ll just try for a perfect round some other time. Surprisingly (or maybe not so surprisingly), I’m not all that upset about it.

Here’s what I did happen to get done:

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 3/5 Thursdays are so hard for me. You’d think it’d be Wednesdays, but Thursdays are when I get restless. Lately I haven’t had too much of an issue with it, but this week I just watched the Olympics instead. I was going to make it up on Saturday, but with everything that went on, I didn’t bother. Also, I ate a lot of junk food. After a month without anything bad in my system, it made me feel kind of ill. But I needed it. I had too much stress for anything less than a pint of Ben & Jerry’s Cherry Garcia ice cream.
  2. Edit or write every day. 3/7 I’m nearly finished editing my next story, and I should be able to wrap it up this week.
  3. Read one chapter every day. 3/7 Started a brand new book which seems promising. It’s pretty big, so it’ll probably take me a week or two to get through it.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Edit story #2 in my collection. Still working on this.
  2. Pick one contest or one magazine I’d like to participate in for this month. Done. I chose an e-magazine to submit one of my better horror stories. I’m going to wait until I get to editing this story before I do anything more with this goal.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. This is 100% complete and now just needs to be edited again (and again, and again, and again…).
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% I’m waiting until my beta readers get back to me, then I’m jumping into this one head first!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Getting closer to achieving this goal! I have my magazine picked out. Now I need to edit, edit, edit!
  4. Read at least four books this month. 25% And working on another one!

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I finished Christopher Stocking’s book London Darkness: Infernal Inventions. If you like steampunk and a quick pace, consider checking it out!
  2. I got to see Karmin in concert! They were SO good. I also got their signatures on their album cover. 🙂
  3. That last surprise didn’t quite go official yet. But I’m hoping it will this week!
Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    Wow, I can’t even imagine that … I’m glad everything turned out okay, though.
    Hey, blame the Olympic games for not going as you wanted this week LOL
    You made progress, perhaps not as much as you wanted, but still progress 😉
    I’m sure you’ll do great next week! Cheers!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I love the Olympics! I just wish they didn’t air up until midnight. That’s a wee bit late for me on a work night. But thanks – you’re right, this wee will be better!

  2. Julie Glover says:

    Oh no, we were supposed to try for perfection!!! I’m WAY behind then. LOL. You still had a pretty good week, Karen. I find that I don’t mind if I don’t get to my goals if I put a big issue in a relationship ahead of them. That’s a worthwhile priority.

    Still, I hope you knock out a perfect week starting today! Have a great one.

    • Karen Rought says:

      I completely agree. No guilt here. Kind of nice the pressure is off, actually. 😛 Still, it did make me realize that I can do a perfect round, so it’s just up to me to try for it again. Glad you’re getting back on schedule. Good luck to you too!

  3. Well, if you’re going to go off track, it sounds like you had an important reason for doing so. I’m a big fan of goals, but we’ve got to live life, too.

    Despite that, it sounds like you still made some progress. Congratulations! Plus, I’m a bit jealous that you saw Karmin. Their music is tons of fun.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! And Karmin was amazing! Absolutely not disappointed at all. They sounded great and they were super nice and signed autographs after (despite the fact their manager kept trying to usher them out of there).

  4. Gene Lempp says:

    Wow, you know, I wouldn’t be upset about the unintended break either. I’d say you did the right thing and am glad it all turned out well. Nicely done on your goals. Great list, by the way, you should consider being a ROW sponsor one of these rounds. Have a fantastic week, Karen 🙂

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    Guilt, not a chance, it’s not needed. It’s not like you just blew your goals off. Some things are more important. I like your priorities and how life isn’t holding you down. You’re back at it. Forward movement. Have a great week.

  6. […] ROW80 – R3C5 – So Much for Perfect […]

  7. I didn’t even start out this ROW80 round with perfection, so I suppose it’s okay if you had one misstep. Keep with it and things will get done. Happy to hear all turned out well after a scare, and that you enjoyed Karmin. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

