ROW80 – R3C4 – One Month Down

Posted: July 29, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

July isn’t out yet, but the next time we talk it’ll be August. This is the fourth check-in and I’ve been able to keep my “perfect round” goal on track for a whole month.

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 5/5 I’ve taken advice from some of you guys from last week. Instead of running in five minute increments, I’ve tried stepping it up a few minutes here and there. Instead of running for a total of 15 minutes, I’ve been fluctuating between 18 and 19 minutes. It doesn’t seem like much, but that extra amount has proven to be challenging, which is what I need at this point. Weight loss is on track and I’m happy with my results.
  2. Edit or write every day. 7/7 I’ve been editing all this week. It’s going slowly, but it’s been extremely helpful. I’ve been writing a lot in the last few months, so it’s nice to be editing again.
  3. Read one chapter every day. 7/7 I’ve been reading far more than just a single chapter each day, and it’s been nice to finally get back into reading seriously again.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Edit story #1 in my collection. Done. The overhaul was definitely needed for this and I’m happy with the results. The next goal is to edit story #2 in my collection.
  2. Pick one contest or one magazine I’d like to participate in for this month. Done. I chose an e-magazine to submit one of my better horror stories. I’m going to wait until I get to editing this story before I do anything more with this goal.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. This is 100% complete and now just needs to be edited again (and again, and again, and again…).
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% I’m waiting until my beta readers get back to me, then I’m jumping into this one head first!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Getting closer to achieving this goal! I have my magazine picked out. Now I need to edit, edit, edit!
  4. Read at least four books this month. 100% I’ve read Marty Boggs and the Curse of Kutkara, as well as all three Noble Intentions book (more about them below).

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. My friend just published his third novella in his Noble Intentions series. The books are about an assassin/spy named Jack Noble. I’ve read all three of these books (and I’m named editor on the third one!) and they’re fantastic. They’re fast paced, action-packed novellas. Quick reads and definitely enjoyable. The author likens it to Jack Reacher, John Rain, and Jason Bourne. They’re on sale now at Amazon for only $0.99! He’s even got a Facebook page here.
  2. Remember that surprise I was teasing for a while? I am officially a columnist for Hypable! I wrote my first article about Percy Jackson. My column is bi-monthly, so look for the next one in a couple of weeks – it’s going to be about Teen Wolf.
  3. I have another surprise in the works. If all goes to plan today, then I’ll be able to announce it next week! I’m sure a few of you will really enjoy it.
Comments
  1. Yay for success! Sounds like you’re doing really well; congrats! 🙂

    And especially congrats on the running progress – it only gets better from here on out. 🙂 Are you enjoying the runner’s high? That’s probably what always keeps me coming back for more. I’m a runner myself.)

    • Karen Rought says:

      I’m not addicted to running like a lot of people are, but I’m definitely getting there. Hopping on the treadmill each night is getting a lot easier, so that’s a plus!

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Once again you’re doing well with your goals AND congrats for the Hypable news! That’s great. Have a good week and happy writing 🙂

  3. Juliana Haygert says:

    Lot’s of DONES! Yay!
    And congrats on being a columnist! About Percy Jackson, I loved the books, and liked the movie. It could have been better, but, for my husband who didn’t read the books, it was great …
    Can’t wait for the next movie!
    Woot for another surprise! Can’t wait to hear about it 😉

  4. caswebb says:

    oh I love the way you have organised your goals… I need to shuffle some of my goals into the ‘fluctuating’ category. Good luck with your next week.

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    Yeah, Karen!! Well done 😀
    Yes, I completely agree. Running 8-10 minutes is challenging stuff. Not sure how I’ll ever run a 5k, but I’m going to keep trying.
    Congratulations on your column, very exciting

  6. Julie Glover says:

    Congrats on the columnist gig! How wonderful. Another great week with check marks everywhere. Enjoy the writing & revising!

  7. Charles says:

    The End, a horror collection. Sounds interesting! And once again, very impressive. You need to teach this goal setting method to young people. Outstanding!

Tell me what you think!

