#ROW80 – R3C3 – Three for Three

Posted: July 22, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

Just one more week to go and I can say that I completed all my goals for an entire month!

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 5/5 I’m noticing that running isn’t quite as difficult as it was a couple weeks ago. While this is a great thing, I’m thinking I’m either going to have to pick up the pace or start running for longer than my regular five minute increments. The weight continues to slowly, slowly come off. Can’t complain about that one.
  2. Edit or write every day. 7/7 I haven’t done a lot of writing, but I made sure that I did write each day. This goal has been adjusted so that either editing previous stories or creating new ones will count. I plan on spending a good amount of time editing for the next few weeks.
  3. Read one chapter every day. 7/7 Guys, GUYS. Guess what? I finished a book. I finally finished up the book critique that I did for a fellow writer. It was called Marty Boggs and the Curse of Kutkara’s Tomb. It’s a children’s book, but I liked it. It especially picked up around the halfway mark and I’m glad that I got to read it. I’m a third of the way through my next book, which is a good and quick read.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Finish writing “Calling Card.” Done. This didn’t turn out quite how I imagined it the first time, but I think it has potential. It’ll need serious editing. My goal for this week is to edit story #1 in my collection.
  2. Pick one contest or one magazine I’d like to participate in for this month. Done. I chose an e-magazine to submit one of my better horror stories. I’m going to wait until I get to editing this story before I do anything more with this goal.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. This is 100% complete and now just needs to be edited again (and again, and again, and again…).
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% I’m waiting until my beta readers get back to me, then I’m jumping into this one head first!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Getting closer to achieving this goal! I have my magazine picked out. Now I need to edit, edit, edit!
  4. Read at least four books this month. 25% The first book is down and the second is on its way!

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I don’t want to beat this over the head as it has been covered so much in the media and it’s such a tragedy, but my heart truly aches for the people who were killed or affected by the shooting that took place at the midnight showing of The Dark Knight Rises. As a frequent moviegoer, it had me questioning whether or not I wanted to see this film in theatres. But of course we can’t live our lives in fear. Anything could happen at any time. Trying to avoid all possibilities is panic inducing and would likely lead to a breakdown. I’m seeing the movie this morning and planning on enjoying every single second of it.
  2. That surprise I hinted at a couple weeks ago is slowly developing. I’m hoping by the next ROW check-in I’ll be able to reveal it.
  3. My friend Ddog over at Gamerscene has quite a project in the works. He wants to get one person to represent each state in the U.S. and then have each of us review the same movie. The project has potential and it’ll be really neat to see the results. It’s also a great way to connect with fellow bloggers. If you’re a regular movie blogger (or even if you’re not and you’re just interested) or know anyone who is, please check out this link.
  4. I went on another mushroom foray yesterday. Look for a post (and pictures!) on Friday.
  5. Here’s a picture to make you smile:

    “Hey! I came in here for a reason…”

How did you guys do this week? Have you seen the new Batman film yet?

Comments
  1. EM Castellan says:

    You’ve been doing so well, that’s awesome! I went to see The Dark Knight Rises on Friday and I loved it, I hope you enjoy. Have a great week!

    • Karen Rought says:

      It was incredible!!!! I was so stressed the entire time because I had no idea what was going to happen. Really, really great movie. Thanks for stopping by. 🙂

  2. Juliana Haygert says:

    Lot’s of DONE! Awesome!
    I’m totally shocked and sad over the shooting at Aurora too …
    I hope the Dark Knight Rises stays on the theaters for another month, because that’s when my MIL comes visit us and we can have her take of the daughter while we go see the movie 😉 Hope you like it!
    Oooo, can wait to hear on the news!
    Have a great week!

  3. Great going on your goals!

    I don’t get into Batman that much. I liked the TV show, and the comics when they were more for kids. And Tim Burton’s one was kind of fun, but not really into “dark” with it. (James Bond, yeah, I like the grittier take, but not Batman.)

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! That’s understandable. I’m a huge superhero movie fan, but sometimes they can be a little over the top. I like how Batman is more believable, and I really enjoy the dark spin on it. But that’s the great thing about movies – they’re around forever. We can watch the ones we really like over and over again!

  4. bwtaylor75 says:

    Great job. You must be stepping in for the Energizer bunny with so many completed goals. Keep up the good work.

    Haven’t seen Batman, and I probably won’t. I’m just too busy.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha, thanks! I barely had time to pop out for the showing, but I decided to put it on my “must do” list. Luckily I got to see an earlier showing, so I got back home sooner than expected. Now it’s time to work!

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    Good for you, keep it up too. Oh and definitely pick of the minutes of running time, throw an 8-minuter in there. You can do it. Looking forward to reading about your surprise. Kids are at my parents for the night so hubs and I are seeing Dark Knight. Hope you enjoyed it.

  6. caswebb says:

    well done, your on a great roll 🙂

  7. Julie Glover says:

    Wow, you are just knocking out the goals right and left. Good for you, Karen!

    By the way, having grown up near the ocean, it was interesting that whenever a shark attack occurred anywhere on Planet Earth, beach attendance would go down. Locals would often hit the beach then because the likelihood of a shark attack is incredibly low, and they’d have more space without the crowds. I figure it’s the same with the shooting and theaters. We saw Amazing Spiderman a couple of days ago ourselves. All the shooting was on the screen. Still, my heart goes out to the families who lost members in a senseless violent act.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! Normally I would agree with that statement, but humans are just nothing like sharks (which is unfortunate in this case). I’m afraid that this might become a fad amongst the crazies now. Look at how much attention this guy is getting. That’s what most of them want. Shark attacks are born from the need to feed. This sort of thing is a lot more random and therefore a lot more dangerous. But, like I said above, we just can’t be in fear all the time. That’s just not the way to live.

  8. Charles says:

    Wow, this is an incredible feat. Kudos to you!

Tell me what you think!

