#ROW80 – R3C2 – Twice Lucky

Posted: July 15, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

Another week down, and another set of goals met!

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 5/5 Easy breezy! I find that if I just don’t give myself any allowances to be lazy, if I factor in that I HAVE to do this each day, it’s much easier. I have a schedule every night when I get home after work and this also makes it easier. Running and sit-ups are a good combination for me. I hope it continues to work, as I’m already feeling small differences.
  2. Write every day. 7/7 I’ve been having a case of wandering fingers this week. I’m having trouble sticking to just one story and when I do sit down to write something, it’s hard for me to really get into the story. I think the routine I have is cramping my muse’s style. In all honesty, I really want to edit a bunch of my short stories and my novel, but I also want to wait until all my beta readers are done. Once they’re wrapped up, the goal of writing will be replaced by editing. Until then, I’m just going to stick it out.
  3. Read one chapter every day. 7/7 I’m kicking butt and taking names with this one. The novel I’m critiquing (the one that’s way long overdue) is picking up pace and I’m really starting to get drawn into the final chapters of the story. Hopefully I can finish it this week!

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Edit “100 Deaths.” Done! This is complete for now, but like with everything, I’d like to revisit it again soon. Maybe I’ll throw it to a few friends first and get some feedback. No rush on this one. The new goal is to finish writing “calling card,” which is my latest idea for my horror short story collection.
  2. Get caught up on my writing e-mails. Done! In moving forward with this goal, I want to pick one contest or one magazine I’d like to participate in for this month. I tend to get a little panicky if I do too much at once, so I’m taking this one slow. It can be so nerve wracking!

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. (Anyone interested?) We’re at about 90% now, and closing in on the finish of the last story. I have a feeling that the concept (or at least the genre that I’ve chosen for this) will need to be altered soon. I think my stories are just a little too varied for the whole collection to truly be considered horror.
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% I’m waiting until my beta readers get back to me, then I’m jumping into this one head first!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Currently narrowing down contests in order to do so.
  4. Read at least four books this month. 0% Still working on the first one. I’ve also started on the second, but have completed neither yet. (Getting close!)

Extras

These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. I took care of my BFF’s dogs all week and although I love the puppy, I came home with at least one injury each day. Glad that’s over!
  2. Over at Hypable, one of our writers wrote a fantastic piece on who he thinks should star in the Wicked movie that is just getting off the ground. His column is smart, funny, and extremely well thought out. I’ve never seen Wicked, so I don’t know much about the characters. However, I know a lot of you are into musical theatre, so I highly recommend you read it.
  3. The ten year reunion panel of Firefly happened at Comic-Con over the weekend. It gave me all sorts of feelings and made me so jealous. I bet it was a great panel. I’m sure there are videos and recaps online if you’re interested. (Hypable’s is missing for some reason. 😦 )

How did you guys do this week? What comic-con news are you keeping an eye out for?

Comments
  1. Juliana Haygert says:

    I see lots of goals completed! Great job!
    Sad as it sounds, I haven’t followed much of Comic Con … I wish I was there and since I’m not, I try not to look much at it so I won’t be even sadder lol
    Have a great week!

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Congrats on meeting your main goals and most of your other goals, that’s great! I wish I had been to Comic Con as well, I heard that the Firefly panel was memorable. And OH MY you mentioned Wicked in this post, this is awesome. I am a HUGE fan of the musical and just the idea of a movie based on it makes me hyperventilate. Have a great week and happy writing!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! There were a lot of great quotes that came out of the Firefly panel. They all said some really beautiful things. My favorite was, “Do you remember when we were off the air for 10 years and thousands of people came out to see us?” Perfect. You’ll have to read through that article and tell me what you think of those choices then! He said he made some fairly controversial picks, so I’d love to hear your thoughts since you’re such a huge fan. 🙂

  3. alberta says:

    sounds like you’ve done well – don’t know Firefly so cannot commiserate with you – except that somehow it made you sad so cheer up whatever it was/is/will be:) all the best for coming week

    • Karen Rought says:

      Firefly was a show that was on for a single season before it was cancelled. Its fan base is bigger now than when it first started and they subsequently got a movie out of it too. The ten year reunion was a bit bitter-sweet because it was so short lived and yet there were all these fans flocking to their panel. Thanks for the luck and same to you for this next week!

  4. EM Castellan says:

    So I read the article and the choices are indeed controversial… Basically all the actors he picked are from Glee, and I’m not a fan of this TV show. I actually would like to see new faces cast for that movie. Or even better: have Idina Menzel and Kristin Chenoweth (the original stars of the show) star in the movie. But that’s just me 😉

    • Karen Rought says:

      Haha, yeah, most of the stars were from Glee. But, then again, they are a pretty talented bunch! I think seeing new faces for the movie would be really interesting – I always like those stories of people going from nobody to somebody over night.

  5. Jenny Hansen says:

    Holy cowbell, that’s a lot of goals!! Great going on the exercise…that’s one of the hardest things for me. 🙂

    • Karen Rought says:

      It’s definitely the hardest thing for me too, but I HAVE to do it. I’m literally in front of the computer, sitting down, all day, every day. I’ll forget how to use my legs if I don’t get up and exercise!

  6. Some great goals there – especially the ‘writing every day’ one! Good on you for fitting it all in.

    Never saw Firefly, incidentally, but I heard it was very good. The other news from Comic-Con is that Peter Jackson’s thinking of turning The Hobbit into three movies. Coincidentally, I’d just posted my thoughts about the way he must have turned it into two (I mean, a 240-page kids’ book?) Three – well, that’s stretching it. Apparently he won’t have to shoot too much more to do it, though. A scary thought in itself, though they were at it for long enough.

    I got this off New Zealand TV news tonight, incidentally – Jackson being Jackson, he tends to grab the headlines here even with a murmured comment in a convention.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! I think you’d enjoy Firefly, given your tastes in other movies and shows that are similar. I read your post earlier and wondered if you had heard the latest news – I was going to comment about it, but just never got around to it! If the success of his previous films are any indication, I’d say that he’ll do just fine turning it into three films if he wants to.

  7. KM Huber says:

    Was wondering whether or not you might combine your desire to edit into your daily writing; I agree that daily writing is critical for writers. I have found that when I am drawn into editing a piece, if I will just start editing, I soon find myself writing,and it is focused writing, albeit on another project. Frankly, I have had quite a few epiphanies this way. Just something for you to consider.

    You really do have a full plate this round and I wish you the very best with all of your goals.

    Karen

    • Karen Rought says:

      I’m going to do that very soon! The “write every day” goal is going to quickly switch over to an “edit/write every day” goal. I figured it’s pretty much the same thing, and still quite necessary. I have a few projects that need editing, so I won’t feel guilty if I stop working on new stories to wrap up these other things.

      Thanks for the comment!

  8. Julie Glover says:

    Take the winner’s lap, Karen! You had a great week! Best wishes with those fingers. Keep up the great ROW80.

  9. shanjeniah says:

    […] #ROW80- R3C1- Twice Lucky […]

Tell me what you think!

