#ROW80 – R3C1 – Perfection

Posted: July 8, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

I did it, you guys! The first week is down and it was a PERFECT one! I completed all my goals and I feel great about it. There’s nothing like getting stuff done to make you feel like a million bucks.

Here’s what I’ve accomplished:

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. 5/5 Total win on this front! I’ve been running for half an hour every day, and I’ve started doing sit-ups as well. I’ve also been eating healthier – cutting as much sugar as I can, no soda (big weakness for me), and no red meat (and steak is my favorite!). I weighed myself this morning and found out I hadn’t done that in 42 days (I use Wii Fit, so it keeps track for me). Not good! Hopefully tracking my progress will give me more motivation.
  2. Write every day. 7/7 I managed to finish up “Death,” but I don’t like it. I’m shelving it for now. I also began and finished another story called “100 Deaths.” I like this one quite a bit, and I’m excited to go back and edit it. I also started another short story in my faerie tale series, but it’s slow going.
  3. Read one chapter every day. 7/7 I’m trying to finish a critique of a book that is looong overdue. Forcing myself to read a chapter a day is making it go by much more quickly, and I’m finding that I’m a lot more interested in the story now. I’m about halfway through, so it should be done in a couple of weeks. Whoo hoo!

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Finish writing “Death.” Done! I lost the original vision for this and ending up taking it in a whole different direction. I just don’t like it. I won’t delete it, but I’m just going to forget about it for now. Maybe some other inspiration will hit me in the future and I can take another look at it. My new goal will be to edit “100 Deaths.”
  2. Get caught up on my writing e-mails. Done! Although I have to admit that I’m already backlogged again. I’m keeping this goal for another week and hopefully I can stay on top of everything this time.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. (Anyone interested?) We’re still at about 80%. I’m struggling with the concepts of the last two stories. I have some that are about death, but they’re not exactly in the horror genre. I’m not sure if they would fit in with the rest of the collection.
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0% I’m waiting until my beta readers get back to me, then I’m jumping into this one head first!
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0% Once I can get on top of those e-mails again, this will be easier…
  4. Read at least four books this month. 0% Still working on the first one. I’ve also started on the second, but have completed neither yet.

Extras

I also want to start sharing other things each week. I’ve got a nice surprise coming up soon, which will be featured here just about every other week. These are things that don’t warrant a full post, but are definitely items I’d like you to check out if you’re interested.

  1. First up, I always have to plug Hypable. If you don’t remember, or you’re a new subscriber, this is the website that I copyedit for. They’re motto is, “For fans, by fans,” and it’s so true! It’s a fan-run site that features articles about nearly any fandom you could ever be interested in. They’ve got the big ones like Harry Potter, Twilight, and The Hunger Games. But they also got things like The Vampire Diaries, Doctor Who, and The Walking Dead, just to name an extremely small fraction of their content. Music, movies, video games, TV shows, and everything in between. Not only do they share the news, but we have a bunch of podcasts and we have a team of writers who create original content (columns, fun lists, etc.) for the site. They even have a feature called “News By You” where you can submit your own articles and columns and get published on the site if that’s your thing. Here’s a link to the Weekend Reading feature, so you can check out all the best articles in one place.
  2. I saw The Amazing Spider-man, and you know what? It was amazing. Andrew Garfield was just phenomenal. And, you know, so was Emma Stone. Like that’s anything new.
  3. I got my first TeeFury shirt in the mail. This makes me feel witty and invincible. I love it.

    Le Chat Noir meets Sailor Moon!

That’s it for now. Did anyone else have a perfect week? Do share! And even if you didn’t – what was the most amazing thing that happened to you in the last seven days?

Comments
  1. L.S. Engler says:

    Okay, that t-shirt is perfection, just like your week. Way to knock it out of the park! That’s awesome! Keep up the great momentum. You are going to get soooo much stuff done this round. color me envious, because mine was a far cry from perfect, but that just means I’ll have to look to your progress for inspiration.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Isn’t it!? I just love that shirt to death. The best thing about Row80 is that each week is a new chance to start over and do better than last time. Hope you kick butt!

  2. Yay for a perfect week!

    …I just remembered….hadn’t you sent me Lifetimes to beta-read? *extremely sorry face* ….which I have not yet returned…

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thank you! Yes, I think I did, but I knew you were super busy so I didn’t want to hold you to any particular deadline. I’ve exchanged pieces with others and we are working on a schedule, which is what I was referring to above. You can get to it whenever you get a chance – no worries!

  3. Congrats on meeting all your goals this week! I met all of mine too – first week in a long time. I kept them small, as I wanted to start out with a bang. Have a great week!

  4. Wow! Amazing…. truly. You are an absolute inspiration! 😀 Keep up the fantastic work!

  5. Juliana Haygert says:

    Awesome week, Karen! That’s so great! Hope you can keep that up!
    Ugh, my husband doesn’t want to watch The Amazing Spider-Man … not on the theaters at least … Let’s see if I can convince him lol

    • Karen Rought says:

      Tell him I said he HAS to go see it. That should work. 😉 Seriously though, I think this movie had a lot of things the other one didn’t…namely Andrew Garfield, lol. It was a lot funnier than I thought it would be too. Definitely enjoyed myself.

  6. EM Castellan says:

    Congrats on meeting your goals for this fist week! That’s very inspiring for those of us who nearly made it but are not quite there yet…(yes, those like me). Keep it up and have a great week! Happy writing!

  7. Julie Glover says:

    Woo-hoo! High-five for you, Karen! What a fabulous week. I got most of my goals knocked, but I’m stalling with reading the craft book. I’ll have to refocus a little this week.

    I’d be very interested in reading a story or two, if your horror won’t give me gory nightmares. I’m not crazy about slasher stuff, but I’m tougher than I thought because all the forensics, bodies, entrails, etc. don’t seem to bother me at all when I watch BONES. And I LOVE suspense. Anyway…

    Have another marvelous week! Best wishes for ROW80.

    • Karen Rought says:

      Julie, I’ll give you some of the softer stuff and see what you think. If you want to move up to the slasher stuff after that, I can send those to you too. I’ll send you an e-mail in the next few days! Thanks. 🙂

  8. alberta says:

    great tee shirt:) great week also, well done, keep smiling:)

  9. Stacy Green says:

    Awesome job on the goals, Karen. And couldn’t agree more about Spiderman. Movie was excellent, as was Andrew Garfield.

  10. S. J. Maylee says:

    You’re a rock star! 🙂 love all the positive energy swirling around your posts this round, well done you

Tell me what you think!

