Rising Stars: World’s Worst Musical

Posted: July 2, 2012 in Music, Rising Stars
Tags: , , , , ,

It’s been a few months since I added to this particular series, but the wait has been worth it. If you’ve been following this blog at all in the last few weeks, you’ll have learned all about my Starkid obsession. I promised I’d go about a week without talking about them, and I’ve held up my end of the bargain. Now it’s no holds barred.

Sort of.

See, I’m not exactly talking about Starkid this time around. I’m talking about something else: The World’s Worst Musical. It’s actually a web-series created by Molly Scanlon, Marty Scanlon, and Corey Lubowich. (Corey has been working with Starkid for a while, mostly as a set and costume designer, but also as other things. He wears a lot of hats.)

The premise of this 10-episode web series is this:

World’s Worst Musical is an original musical webseries that follows one writer struggling through his terrible ideas to write an amazing musical. As his ideas come to life he reaches the same conclusion again and again… this is the worst!

The idea is kind of cool, but the execution is even better. I’m always wary of webseries because I’m afraid I’ll waste my time watching something filmed on a cell phone and acted out by twelve year olds with no thespian bones in their body.

Not to worry! These videos are in “glorious HD” and are full of really funny and wondrous moments, all brought to you by people who can act, but can also dance and sing as well.

Here’s the first episode, in case you’re interested:


 
Some of the episodes are a little hit or miss for me. That’s not to say that they aren’t good and weren’t put together with love and attention, but I just didn’t connect with all of them. Hey, it happens.

But, here’s the redeeming episode. Episode 2 is by far the best (in my opinion of course). Every other day I have to watch it again because it’s just so good. And it helps that one of the newest Starkids, Jeff Blim, knocked this role out of the park just as well as he did playing Sweet Tooth in Holy Musical B@tman!.


 
I really do need to download this song.

If you want to watch the rest of the videos, simply go here. Half of them are out and more are coming soon! I can’t wait to see the rest of them, as I’m sure there are some more gems in store. I’m particularly fond of episode 4, because I wish I had a singing driving instructor when I was trying to get my license (especially if he was Dylan Saunders in disguise!).

But, honestly, coolest thing about this is the fact that these people are just regular Joe Schmoes. They’re pretty popular on the web, but they don’t have international stardom or anything. They’re normal people. They’re artists who make art simply because they want to. They even had a Kickstarter campaign to help them raise money in order to film. They’re connected with their audience, who in turn is incredibly loyal to them.

Hey, doesn’t that sound like something that we as writers get told to do all the time? This is just one more example of how it works. (And if you’ve never heard of Kickstarter before, Google it! It might just become your new best friend.)

Check them out all across the internet, if you’re interested:

Website

Twitter

YouTube

Facebook

Comments
  1. Okay, I’ll be honest here. I watched the first 4 epsiodes of WWM because I wanted to see Lauren Lopez (I love her) in episode 4 so I figured I might as well watch the first 3 too. I think WWM sucks. Personally, I think that it’s cheesy, odd and most of the views probably come from people like me who just wanted to see the Starkids. I’ll be willing to bet that if it weren’t for the Starkids, WWM wouoldn’t even be half as popular as it is now. That’s not to say that it’s complete rubbish. I mean, I guess people like the songs (I’m not a huge fan) and the plot is unique. I just think that they’ll never be more than what they are now.
    However, just because I hate starting something and not finishing it, I’ll probably watch the rest of them too. Who knows? Maybe it’ll end up being better….

    • Karen Rought says:

      I love Lauren too – she’s definitely one of my favorites, even if it is so difficult to choose between them.

      WWM is for a specific audience, I think. Like I said, I really enjoyed the second episode, and I liked the fourth quite a bit. The fifth one completely fell flat for me, but it’s bound to happen sooner or later. One of the things that I think is lacking about it is an actual plot – I mean, what’s supposed to happen? I guess the main question is, will he write the musical in the end? But we never actually move towards that, we just keep seeing the same episode using different songs and scenarios. i hope you’re right and that it’ll end up getting better. This is a talented group of people – Starkids obviously included – and they deserve to gain new fans.

      Thanks for your comment!

Tell me what you think!

