ROW80 Round 3 Goals

Posted: July 1, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , , ,

I can’t believe I’m already entering my third ROW80 round. It truly seems like it was just yesterday that January rolled around and I sat down to type out a similar post about what goals I wanted to accomplish over the next few months.

That round turned out to be a pretty solid one. It started off great, got a little away from me somewhere in the middle, but finished on a high note. I got a lot of things done. The second round didn’t quite turn out so good. Life got in the way on more than one occasion and I felt like each week my completed goal counts got lower and lower. But even at the end of that one, when I counted up everything I accomplished, I realized that I did a lot more than I thought I did. That’s success.

So, for this round, I’m taking on a no-nonsense attitude. I have to. I have too many things I want to accomplish and not nearly enough time to get them all done. It was nice to take a little bit of a relaxed position during the last round, especially after working so hard on the previous one. But we’re already more than halfway through the year and it’s time that I started concentrating on the things that are going to move me forward in my writing career and life in general.

That’s right, I’m going for the dreaded, the elusive, the all-comsuming…

Perfect Round.

All goals completed, no exceptions. This may be the writing challenge that knows you have a life, but this is the round that knows you have a life, hands you a machete and some lighter fluid, and tells you to take no prisoners.

So, here’s what I have planned:

MAIN GOALS

These are the daily goals that won’t change throughout the round.

  1. Exercise for half an hour each day, five days a week. Yep, this one is coming back with a vengeance. It’s being paired up with better eating habits, so hopefully I start seeing some serious results.
  2. Write every day. This is really the whole point, isn’t it? I have to write and I have to do it every day to get better and meet my goals. Blog posts don’t count.
  3. Read one chapter every day. It doesn’t matter what it is or what book it’s from, but I have to do this every day, no matter what. We’re half way through the year and I think I’ve read a measly three books so far. That’s unacceptable. Last year I read 50 books. This year I decided to cut that number in half (and decided to only count books I hadn’t read before), so I have no excuses not to do it.

FLUCTUATING GOALS

These are the goals that will change from week to week.

  1. Finish writing “Death.” This is story eight out of ten that I want for my short story horror collection.
  2. Get caught up on my writing e-mails. I keep a list of competitions and other writing related things in an e-mail, but I’m horribly behind. I need to cut the competitions that are over and add new ones to look into. It’s high time I started trying to market my writing skills to magazines and other outlets that will help me gain experience.

ROUND GOALS

I like knowing what I want to accomplish over the course of this round, as that will help determine what my weekly goals will be.

  1. Finish The End, my horror collection. Get some beta readers. (Anyone interested?) We’re at about 80% right now.
  2. Begin editing Lifetimes, the novel I’m focusing on right now. 0%
  3. Enter at least one competition or submit at least one article to a magazine. 0%
  4. Read at least four books this month. 0%

I’m going to add and take away from these goals as I see fit, but these are the things that I truly hope to accomplish. This round is going to be brutal, especially since I have so many other responsibilities at the moment, but I need this kick in the pants. I’ve been serious about my writing for a while, but now it’s time to show you guys what I’m made of.

(P.S. Well-wishers are always welcome. It’s so nice to see you guys cheering me on each week. That’s a huge reason why I love ROW80 so much!)

Comments
  1. Woot! Glad your back for round 3! I love to see the same faces, and new ones too!
    Good luck with all your goals! I’m sure you’ll kick ROW80’s butt 😉

  2. EM Castellan says:

    Yeah for a perfect round! I think your list of goals is precise, realistic and varied enough to keep things interesting AND doable. I wish you all the best of luck for this round! Happy writing!

  3. Julie Glover says:

    Machete & lighter fluid? Loved that! I have simplified my own goals this summer because it’s crazy time in my house. But I love that you are coming at this round with a vengeance. Take no prisoners!

    If you’re interested in having a non-horror fan read your stuff for a would-I-read-this-even-if-I-don’t-usually-read-horror? perspective, I’d be happy to beta read. 🙂 I have read some horror, just not a lot.

    I’ll be here in Round 3 kickin’ it with you. We can do it, Karen. Let’s take this round by storm! Woot! Woot!

    • Karen Rought says:

      Thanks! And I would LOVE some feedback from someone that doesn’t usually read horror. I’m just apprehensive, though, because some of them are quite gruesome. I’ve turned a few of my friends’ stomachs with them, so I always put a little disclaimer in there. If you’re still interested, go ahead and shoot me an e-mail and I’ll send them to you.

  4. Great goals! I love the overarching goal of a perfect round to pull all the other goals together. Good luck and I look forward to seeing how it goes! 🙂

  5. fakesteph says:

    You can totally do it! Good luck. I’m aiming for a perfect round, too.

  6. S. J. Maylee says:

    It’s amazing how far we’ve come from our 1st round. I think mine was just spending time with my characters and now for my 3rd round, I’m just like you: whole hog. Let’s do this. ROW80 round 3 is going to rock.

  7. Machete and lighter fluid, LOL, love it. You have a great ‘take no prisoners’ attitude Karen and while your list of goals is somewhat staggering I think you’ll nail it! Wishing you a fabulous Round.

  8. Emily says:

    Good luck with everything! I’m sort of hoping for a perfect round as well, and have started solidly but don’t want to get too excited only three days in.

    • Karen Rought says:

      The only way to go through a round is with excitement at maximum! Haha, or that could just being the sugar rush/sleep deprivation talking. Either way, good luck!!

Tell me what you think!

