Aquariums, Museums, Hons, Oh My!

Posted: June 20, 2012 in Art, Wandering Bard
Tags: , , , , , ,

Before I get into the meat of this post, I just want to direct your attention to Julie Glover’s blog post where she interviewed me! It was my very first interview and it was oh-so-fun answering all of those questions. Now, this isn’t your typical interview – in fact, it has pretty much nothing to do with me as a writer. Julie actually interviewed me for her Amazing Words Wednesday post because on my work blog I post a “Word of the Week” on Wednesdays (we both seem to be a fan of alliteration!). She asked me all sorts of fun questions about antiques and collectibles, so please do me a favor and check it out! And if you could pop over to my other blog and poke around, I would really appreciate it. 🙂

Okay, where was I?

Oh, yes – Baltimore, Maryland! In my last post, I talked about how I got to go see Team Starkid in concert (I promise you guys this is the last time I’ll mention them for, like, a whole week!). Well, I’m the type of person who truly enjoys planning and organizing things – and I like being as efficient as possible when I do it. One of my closest friends moved to Maryland once she graduated from college. I was so terrified that we’d never see each other, but we’ve been doing a pretty good job of keeping in touch.

She was kind enough to let us crash on her couch, and we planned out a whole weekend of Baltimore sightseeing and catching up. It was a lot of fun! Check out some of the really neat things we saw and did:

(P.S. I know these pictures are BIG, but I wanted to give you closeups of everything I encountered. Let me know if they’re TOO big, and I’ll scale them back next time.)

We started the night off right once we got back from the concert: we had ice cream cake at midnight to celebrate Deidre’s 24th birthday!

The next day we went to Inner Harbor and found the National Aquarium! It was pretty expensive, but it was on Lilly’s bucketlist, so we couldn’t pass it up.

We saw this GIANT sea turtle and all three of us fell in love. It was so beautiful!

Peek-a-boo!

We all had an obsession with turtles that day.

Then we went to see a dolphin show!

This was my favorite part! We saw all sorts of jelly fish. These were just sort of bouncing around everywhere.

Look at all those jellyfish!

This one was my favorite!

My first Hard Rock Cafe experience! (And believe it or not, I resisted the B&N store!)

Then we went to the Baltimore Museum of Arts! This is a sculpture of Medusa’s head – the hand is Perseus’!

One of my favorite painters, Seurat.

Here’s a Picasso!

I get excited whenever I see a Jackson Pollock because I can usually recognize his work.

This is a Georgia O’Keeffe

This Greek-style pizza was criminally expensive, but it was SO GOOD.

Then we went to the Honfest. It’s a Baltimore thing, apparently. This was a group of singing Lucille Balls. They were amazing!

A lot of people were dressed up as Hons – meaning they wore awesome ’50s-style dresses and had their hair up in beehive ‘dos!

Wow! That was a lot of pictures. I probably took over 300 that weekend, so you can just imagine how hard it was to narrow it down to the ones I have here. Hope you enjoyed them!

Here are some questions for you: Have you ever been to Baltimore? What’s your favorite zoo or aquarium? Have you ever heard of the Honfest before? (And are you like me and when you say “Honfest,” you think of the Huns from Mulan walking around eating cotton candy and funnel cakes?) Do you have a local festival that you attend regularly?

Comments
  1. Julie Glover says:

    Wow, I had no idea that Baltimore offered so much! I have not been there. That photo of the single jellyfish is amazing, Karen!

    I was mostly proud of myself in this post for recognizing every single artist before I read the caption. Woo-hoo, me! (The benefit of my best friend in college being an artist and making me learn that stuff.) Thanks for sharing the fabulous pics.

    P.S. LOVE having you on my blog today. 🙂 You’re my first Wednesday Words guest! (Unless you want to count Miss Pronunciation and Miss Spelling.)

    • Karen Rought says:

      That picture is just perfect. It turned out so well. I was proud of that dolphin shot too because he was moving FAST!

      And thanks so much for having me! Truly an honor being in the company of Miss P and Miss S!!

  2. ddog13 says:

    When I saw the turtles, I thought of a zombie saying, “I like turtles.” My favorite zoo would have to be the Bronx. I have never been to Baltimore, but it seems like there is a lot to do there.

  3. bwtaylor75 says:

    Yes, Baltimore is a great city. I have been to the aquarium and loved it. I used to be stationed near Newark, New Jersey, when I was in the Air Force. I went to Balitmore, Philadelphia (which I highly recommend), and NYC for fun. Oh, I also forgot another of my favorite cities to visit, Toronto. Love Toronto. Balitmore has some great sea food too. Nice pictures.

    I just stumbled across your blog, but I think I’ll stick around. I hope you don’t mind.

    • Karen Rought says:

      The Philly zoo is one of my favorites, but I haven’t had time to properly check out the city since I was quite young. I also need to expand my travels while in NYC. I tend to just hang out at the Met whenever I visit, haha.

      Thanks for following, that’s totally fine with me!!

Tell me what you think!

