How I Survived the End of the World with Starkid

Posted: June 18, 2012 in Music
Tags: , , ,

It started out with sheer disappointment. It was October 2011 and Team Starkid was going to be going on tour. They had never done this before. Who knows if they would do it again? It was an experiment to see if it would work out. I wanted tickets so bad. But I’d have to find a way to New York City. Find a place to stay. Find a way for my BFF (and fellow Starkid) to get a couple days off work (which was pretty much impossible at her last job). And actually scrape together a couple hundred dollars to do it.

No chance.

The date to buy tickets came and went, and I was surprised by how sad I felt. I mean, I was really, really sad. It was the kind of disappointment where you shake your head and say, “What was I thinking? That could’ve been a once in a life time opportunity.”

So, I sat by and watched YouTube videos of the concert. I bought the DVD. I think I was unbearable for at least a couple of weeks, wishing that I could’ve been there. Talking about it every day. Playing their music over and over and over again.

Not that those things aren’t daily occurrences for me anyway.

Enter Spring of 2012. They had another tour planned. This time it was going to be for the West Coast. Great. There goes any hope. As much as I’d love to hop a plane to go see them in California, there’s no way that’s happening.

But wait! What do you mean they’re coming back to a few cities on the East Coast? They’re going to be in New York City again!? But…but it’s so expensive. I don’t know if I can do that. Wait – what was that? Silver Spring? They were there last time too. Hang on a second – isn’t that near Baltimore? I have a friend in Baltimore who happens to have a very, very comfortable couch.

To make a long story only slightly shorter, I threw caution to the wind and ordered tickets. And not just any tickets – Golden Idol VIP tickets. Now we’re talking!

So I planned the trip. We’d arrive in Silver Spring in time for the concert, then we’d crash on our friend’s couch and spend the rest of the weekend with her, touring Baltimore and catching up (it’d been six months since we last saw her).

Perfect!

And you know what? It was perfect!

Here are some pictures from the concert. I know that most of you have no idea who these people are, but just revel in my bliss with me, ‘kay?

Golden Idol VIP tickets meant we got to get their autographs!

Charlene Kaye was their opening act and she was seriously amazing.

The premise behind the show was that the Starkids accidentally woke up/angered a Mayan god and brought about the beginning of the Apocalypse. Oops.

Here’s the Mayan god.

Even though it is very, VERY hard for me to choose my favorites, there are two Starkids that really jump out at me. This is Dylan Saunders (who you may recognize from the Watsky post I did a while back) and his voice makes my head go fuzzy because he’s so amazing.

And this is Lauren Lopez, whose Draco Malfoy character is literally the funniest thing I’ve seen in my entire life. I laugh EVERY TIME I see it.

“What do you mean I missed the end of the world?”

Our night ended with seeing this little beauty – a batmobile limousine!

I have some videos, but I figured most of you just wouldn’t understand the context or the songs. Plus the crowd was LOUD and you couldn’t really hear them sing. Plus it was going to take 20+ minutes to upload and, well, I’m just not that patient…

Part deux will be coming up on Wednesday, where I’ll show you guys the rest of my weekend. Here are a few hints of things to come: jellyfish, Picasso, Greek pizza, and beehive hairdos.

Comments
  1. ddog13 says:

    I am stumped as to what the next post is, but that Batmobile limo is awesome. I would invest in that….

    • Karen Rought says:

      It’ll all make sense on Wednesday! And yes, so would I. The best part was that it had speakers on the outside and it was blaring “Bad to the Bone.” Priceless.

  2. […] How I Survived the End of the World with Starkid […]

  3. Jenny Hansen says:

    Karen, this post COMPLETELY made me smile. 🙂

  4. […] you’ve been following this blog at all in the last few weeks, you’ll have learned all about my Starkid obsession. I promised I’d go about a week without talking about them, and I’ve held up my end of the […]

Tell me what you think!

