Final ROW80 Check-in for Round 2

Posted: June 17, 2012 in ROW80
Tags: , ,

Well, this round didn’t go as planned for me. Last round was pretty solid, but life just got in the way too many times in these last couple of months. I’m not too worried about it, though. I’m going on vacation next week (I’ll still be blogging though!!), so I’m going to take that time to relax and do some casual writing and reading. The plan is – when I get back – to hit the pavement even harder than I did in the first round. I’m hoping round three is really going to be productive!

As I did with the end of the last round, I’m simply going to put together all of my successes and just forget about the things I never got to. It’ll serve as inspiration for the next round. 😉

  1. I finished Tiger’s Voyage, which I NEVER thought I’d get through, but was really glad that I did.
  2. I finished writing “The Necklace,” which was a sort of experimental short story that I decided to write for fun.
  3. I came to realize that writing short stories is one of my strengths, and that this might be a great way to get my foot in the door.
  4. I read and reviewed Oppression and really enjoyed it.
  5. I finished my short story about Cinderella for my BFF. She LOVED it.
  6. I finished writing “Trigger,” which is a part of my horror short story collection.
  7. I started “Z1,” which is the first book in a series of twelve novellas that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately.
  8. I hit 100 posts.
  9. Finished writing “Found,” another one in my horror short story collection.
  10. Got an iPhone, which makes my life SO much easier.
  11. I came up with a new blog schedule that has me writing themed posts throughout the week, which ALSO makes my life a lot easier.
  12. I ate octopus, squid, and kimchi for the first time.
  13. I SAW STARKID IN CONCERT.
  14. I joined Ladies Who Critique and have already met two fabulous writers who I might start working with!

Dang. Doing this always makes me feel amazing. I did all of that in the last few months, even though it felt like this round went way off track for me. There are so many things I want to get done in the next round, but I need to worry about that when it comes. Until then, I need to do what I have to before I go on vacation, and then it’s time to RELAX!!!

Much love to all my ROWers. See you next time!

Comments
  1. You ARE amazing! Congrats on all the achievements! So, so great!
    Have a good time on your vacation! RELAX!

    See ya next round 😉

  2. You had a wonderful Round! Love your list of accomplishments…go you. Wishing you a fabulous summer and I’ll see you around the ROW 🙂

  3. alberta says:

    def.a round to be pleased with – enjoy the hols and be careful when you hit the pavement you don’t do your ankle in, warm those muscles first:)

  4. Sounds like you accomplished a lot this round, even with life’s business! Well done. 🙂 And kimchi sounds awesome. what was it like? (I’m learning Korean, I’m obsessed with everything Korean at the moment.)

    • Karen Rought says:

      It was terrible!!! Can you believe that out of everything I tried that day, that was the one thing I spit back out? But I want to try it again, maybe from somewhere more authentic. I’ve heard that Koreans are crazy about it, so maybe I just had a bad batch. (And if you’re obsessed with everything Korean right now, you should check out my friends Kaitlin and Michael Branch who write the Athele series. They’re from the States but they teach English over in Korea. They’ve got a great blog and Kaitlin did a hilarious “You know you’ve been in Korea too long…” post that I think you’d enjoy.)

  5. Julie Glover says:

    Wow, you did fabulous! I am also looking at joining Ladies Who Critique. Will you update here on what you think? I’d love to know. Have a marvelous week, Karen!

    • Karen Rought says:

      I love it so far, Julie!!! It’s a smallish community, so everyone is very personable. I picked up two potential partners right away. And everything is broken down into categories so it’s super easy to find what you’re looking for.

Tell me what you think!

