Featured Video: Boogie Shoes

Posted: June 11, 2012 in Music, TV Shows
Tags: , , , , , , ,

Today’s blog post is going to be short and sweet. I had a super fun four-day weekend visiting friends and I still have to claw my way out from under everything that I put off while I was in Maryland. I’ll tell you all about my trip on Friday!

As for the video…no introductions, just watch:


 
Okay, did you catch what was going on there? Her stage name is Unique. Her real name is…Wade. She’s a character from Glee and is played by Alex Newell. He was one of the winners of The Glee Project (season 1).

I keep away from spoilers as much as I can, so even though I knew that Alex was going to be on the show, I had no idea what his storyline would be. When I saw this performance, I was floored. I was in shock – not because he was dressed up as a woman, but because he was absolutely incredible in this role. His talent is off the charts and I just can’t stop listening to this song – even though this episode came and went several months ago. I feel like this was such a great thing for Glee to do, and I hope it opens the eyes of some people about this sort of thing.

So, here are some questions for you: Have you ever encountered someone who cross-dresses? Have you ever been completely shocked by something that you saw – but in a good way? Did this video, or something you experienced in your life, make you reevaluate your opinion or perspective about something? I want to hear about some cool stories of acceptance in the comments!

Comments
  1. Stacy Green says:

    Glad you had such a great weekend. Getting away is therapeutic. As for cross-dressing, my best friend’s teaching partner does, but it’s a major secret. His wife knows, and they struggle with it. He hides it from most of his friends and family. And he hates that he’s this way. I think it’s so sad. He is who he is, and embracing that would make his life much easier.

  2. i loved this episode and think it’s so great every time something like this pushes the envelope a little bit wider and spreads tolerance a little further. it makes it easier for kids struggling with identity issues to see that they aren’t alone.

Tell me what you think!

